Header for Ability Mission

Government Disability Grant To Provide Scooter Transport For Disabled Dad

by Greg Forbes
(Lewisport, Kentucky, USA)

I am a 35-year-old divorced father raising a seven-year-old son.

Disability Issues

I have stenosis of the spine, degenerative disc disease, fibromyalgia, neuropathy, arthritis, hypertension and headaches.

I am legally blind in one eye. I have a partial knee replacement.

I have worked very hard, doing physically demanding jobs in the past and my body is all broken down.

Financial Hardship

My income is $58 a week from child support. I currently live in government housing. I am not able to work. I own an older truck.

I take several pain medications and medicine for depression. I have a ten-year-old power chair that a friend got for me. I have a hospital bed and a raised toilet seat that helps me.

Income Efforts

I am battling with a claim for Social Security Disability. I do not have a hearing date as of yet.

I receive help from my grandmother who does my laundry for me.

I have a friend that helps me cook and do the dishes. Another friend comes and cleans my apartment for me for inspection.

I receive food stamps.

Specific Needs

I get weak when walking and I fall a lot. I use my scooter outside my apartment, but I have no way to take the scooter with me in my truck when I go to doctors' appointments, school or grocery stores.

I need something that will allow me to load and unload my scooter into my truck, so I won't be so limited in what I can do for myself and my son.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Kentucky.