Header for Ability Mission

Government Grant For DJ Business To Give Disabled Man Financial Independence

by Bill Birmele
(London, Ohio, USA)

I am a 48-year-old man. I've never been married and don't have any children.

I have a domestic partner of nine years that is disabled. She has neuropathy in her legs and is on SSID. I take care of her.

We can't get married because of our income. I want us to be able to get married so I want to start a business.

I have a learning disability. Basically what would take most people a week to master would probably take me two to three to start.

I have had to deal with this for my whole life and was told it was from being an alcohol syndrome baby. I don't blame my mother though. She was young.

I have worked hard to function normally. I have taught myself to drive and I take care of myself and also my girlfriend.

Money is very tight. I have to split my SSID check between my mortgage, utilities, food, household items and medicines. Sometimes there is not enough to get everything.

That's why I want to become more financially independent by starting my own business.

I am on SSID. I also try to find odd jobs anywhere I can. I have never asked anyone for help before. I just need some now.

I am looking for any kind of assistance available. I want to start a business, so I can be more financially secure.

I am looking to start a DJ and Karaoke business. I have had a lot of training in this business. I did an internship with Jim Boyd of Boyd music for two years and have learned everything I can.

I have experience with every aspect from setting up the equipment to operation to customer relations to marketing to tearing down. I have experience in working in bars, weddings, parties, and more.

I have also worked on business programs to do the financial side. For marketing I plan to purchase a laptop and printer to do business cards and flyers to canvass potential venues.

I think this would be a good business for me because I would be the sole person responsible for the management.

The average pay for this job is $100 to $500 per event and I should be able to pull four or five jobs a week after marketing.

As with anything it takes time and a lot of personal effort. I am more than willing to put in the effort.

I have figured out the cost for the equipment and supplies I will need and have gotten my numbers from an average of three well-known retailers. I can provide all this information if you would like.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Ohio.