Header for Ability Mission

Government Grant For PTSD Disabled Retired Lawman To Start Retail Business

by Charles Thurman
(Haslet, TX, USA)

I am 54 years old and married to Marion, my wife of 24 years.

I have three grown children and six grandchildren.

I have worked in Law Enforcement for 12 years and I have managed several different retail businesses.

I have some college education and I have owned a personal small business twice.

Disability Issues

I was diagnosed with PTSD and I left Law Enforcement after my five-year-old son was sexually molested and a two-year-old niece murdered.

I have been on disability since 1997 for PTSD and severe disc degeneration of my back and neck having had five operations.

I have tried to work in various capacities without much luck with any that will help support my family.

Financial Hardship

We manage (get by) but have suffered over the years with late payments and are currently getting credit repair.

I want to be able to support my family and leave something for my family.

Income Efforts

I have worked in a video store, and as a caretaker at a community center.

I also have worked as an Assistant Manager for a furniture and appliance store.

I did volunteer work as an ombudsman also.

I have tried construction sales, but I'm not physically able to do the required work.

Specific Needs

I am seeking a federal grant to start a retail business.

Business Idea

I require the grant to start a Texas Rustic Furniture, Mattress and Appliance business.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Texas.