Header for Ability Mission

Housing Grant To Help COPD Disabled Woman Pay For Home And Caregiver

by Karen Baker
(Lancaster, CA, USA)

I'm a 52-year-old single woman with no children. I live in a rented room in Lancaster California.

My parents are still living but not in good health. Most of my family lives out of the area.

I have one small dog named Peanut who is 12 years old.

Disability Issues

I have COPD, which includes emphysema, asthma, pulmonary lung disease and a leaky heart valve.

I contracted this disease because I smoked cigarettes at one time. As time went on after I quit smoking my symptoms surfaced with severe breathing difficulties and shortness of breath.

I did not take care of myself the way I should have and this has left me permanently disabled on Social Security fixed income.

I have other health issues like borderline diabetes and have to eat small meals every 3-4 hours.

I'm on numerous lung medications including a nebulizer machine and now a CPAP machine for severe sleep apnea, which causes me to sometimes stop breathing.

Financial Hardship

I'm living on a fixed income of $966 Social Security. Just to survive, I live in a county that is the least expensive.

It is extremely hot here in Lancaster California and not easy on my lungs.

I have a caregiver, which in home support services pay for. He works 13 hours a week.

I rent a small room with my dog Peanut.

I can't work a physical job but am looking for something on the Internet to help me supplement my income. Money is very tight here.

I want to move into an apartment and have a roommate, which will help me with living expenses. I just don't have the money to get in a place of my own.

I take numerous medications daily, so I'm homebound for that reason.

My doctor put in a request for a power scooter for me. I'm not sure if I will qualify with the type of insurance I have.

My living environment is not good as my heating and air conditioning is very limited due to not being able to afford the cost.

My caregiver drives me where I need to go. I can't afford a shower chair or bedside commode. My insurance won't pay for it.

Income Efforts

I have been looking for income help online. I tried eBay for a while. That did not work out. I could not afford their high fees.

I am getting social security $966 of a month. I have medical med co-pays that come out of that.

I'm trying to find grants for my disability and they're not easy to find because of having to download their paperwork. I have no printer.

Family lives out of town and can't help. I have a few friends here but they can't help as they are disabled as well.

I want to work online somehow as a business to supplement my income.

Specific Needs

I need a three-bedroom apartment for me and my caregiver and my nephew who will come and live with us to help me out. I need furnishings to make my life easier, like:
- a power scooter
- a shower chair
- a medical adjustable bed full size
- an air purifier to help me breathe better
- a raised chair

I'm looking for a grant of at least $2500 to get an apartment and furnishings and to pay for the additional caregiver hours I'll need as my medical condition worsens.

Click here to post comments

Return to US California.