Header for Ability Mission

31 Year Old Single Mother Seeks Grant Money To Help ADHD Disabled Sons

by Amber
(Chouteau, OK, USA)

My Three Boys

My Three Boys

I am a 31-year-old single mother of 3 boys, all Cherokee Indian. I do not have any disabilities, but my sons do.

My oldest is Michael, who is 12 years old. Michael has ADHD, depression and learning disabilities.

My middle son is Harley, he is 8 years old turning 9 on October 3rd. Harley has autism, ADHD, learning disabilities and bipolar tendencies.

My youngest is Nicholas, who is 6 years old. He may be ADHD, but he has transition issues.

My biggest concern for now is Harley.

Harley's disabilities started at birth. He was a preemie. He didn't make his development milestones on time. He only said 4 words at age 3-1/2.

At 3-1/2 is when we found out Harley has autism, learning disabilities, ADHD and bipolar tendencies.

At age 8 years old we found out about Harley's below-average IQ.

It is hard on Harley in school. Harley gets distracted easily. He forgets his homework daily.

He has a hard time with what is real and what he makes up in his head. His emotions are out of control some time. He has panic attacks in crowded places.

Harley is very hyper. At home it is hard sometimes to discipline him. I never know what will set his temper off, getting him to do his homework is really hard.

Harley also has weakness in his hands. He may be almost 9 years old but he acts like a 5 year old. He is repeating the 2nd grade.

I don't have the money to buy the equipment Harley needs for the sensory and tactile problems that have to do with his autism.

I'm a stay at home mom with no work income. I have to be able to drop everything if Harley needs me.

Harley and Michael both get SSI. But it takes a lot of money to pay doctors and counselors and to get them to educational places.

I'm looking for grants to help me buy sensory and tactile equipment to help Harley.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Oklahoma.