Header for Ability Mission

32 Year Old Multiply Disabled Single Father Seeks Housing Grant Money

by Daniel P. May, Jr.
(Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA)

I'm 32 years old. I'm divorced with two children. I have worked many years at many jobs and I miss working very much.

I now live in my brother's house with my mother who is also disabled. My mother is in a wheel chair and has degenerative disc disease among a lot of other health problems.

I take care of my children and my mother and myself as well as can be expected in my current situation

My family has been cursed with many obstacles and somehow we manage to survive, but barely.

My mother has been raped and beaten beyond words. She is missing her right kneecap because my father knocked it out.

She worked two and three jobs at a time to support her three children and now it seems like she has to beg to get help.

My brothers and I were sexually molested and tortured by our stepfather, who is thankfully passed away now. There are police reports and court documents to back up everything I say.

I spent the better part of my life in institutions like Kettler Center, and spirit of Saint Louis and catholic children's home in Alton Illinois.

I'm not here to beg for a free ride. I'm simply asking for help so we don't end up on the streets.

My brother has lost our home to the economy and we will be foreclosed on any day now.

Please take into consideration helping us in anyway you possibly can. I would be forever grateful.

I suffer from posttraumatic stress disorder, diverticulitis, congestive heart failure, high blood pressure, sleep apnea, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and I'm on oxygen.

I'm only getting worse and my 4 doctors all agree that with my combined problems I have 10 years or less to live

I started receiving disability about one year ago, and that helps with the doctors and my medications.

I don't get enough food stamps or have enough money left over to pay all my bills.

I usually go about 12 days a month without eating.

I can't afford to buy shampoo soap, laundry detergent, toothpaste or any of the things you need to clean yourself or your home.

If it were not for churches and friends I wouldn't make it.

As of now my doctors will not release me to work and see no change in the future, although I hope they are wrong.

I do receive SSI, but it's not nearly enough to make it.

I'm looking for help finding a place to live, and maybe some ease of my bills. I could use help getting a vehicle but that's the least of my worries.

I desperately need a place to live or I'm going to be homeless. I need one that I can afford and hopefully isn't in a bad neighborhood.

I would be very grateful for any help.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Illinois.