Header for Ability Mission

33 Year Old Single Mother Seeks Grant Money To Restore Financial Stability

by Jewel
(Atlanta, GA, USA)

I am a 33-year-old single mother with one child. I'm looking for any kind of grants or help to restore financial stability.

I have an undergraduate degree from the University of New Orleans.

I relocated to Atlanta from New Orleans for an unexpected long-term stay and travel due to Hurricane Katrina. My mother passed away three months before the hurricane.

I have been in Atlanta for six years and I feel that I haven't progressed career-wise or financially. I have lived in 12 locations in Atlanta and out that 12 had six jobs.

My daughter will never be affected by the mishaps of instability in housing but through prayer and focus, I am determined to make it work.

In the beginning of 2006 not a full year after Katrina, I found out I had Hepatitis C. This is a blood-borne disease contracted through sexual intercourse, sharing or being exposed to drug paraphernalia or blood contact.

It happened when I first relocated to GA. I was five months pregnant by a man who I thought was a good man and was looking out for me with my unborn child.

I realize now that he suspected he had it, chose to not get tested and then gave it to me.

I haven't taken treatment due to the lack of funds needed to start treatment and the comfort of knowing that when I do start I can still live a stable, financial secure life and take care of my dependent.

I am a single parent and the only means of dependability my daughter has is me.

It has been such a challenge, an emotional roller coaster, sometimes an unhappy ride with my decision to stay here but I feel like I am stuck here and going through the motions.

My daughter is in prekindergarten and this time I want to gain financial resources to get us on our feet to relocate, to maintain the bills that I currently have, pay for my rent and get a rewarding job.

I have been through many financial and employment ups and downs. As a result, it's hard for me paying my rent and bills.

I do have a car but it's not the most reliable so I am off and on without transportation at times. I also have travel expenses to find work and buy household items.

I have been off and on with jobs this year. I have worked a contractor but only for summer and have to file independently on taxes.

I was hired to work at a job this past month but I was told that I wasn't a good fit after one day of voluntarily taking off as the supervisor left a voice message.

I currently work part-time as a substitute on a call need basis, which in the beginning of the year it is really slow.

I am attempting to look for at home work for the flexibility of my daughter, my single parent status, potential opportunities and financial growth.

I am looking for financial benefits through grants, advice to lead me to that information that is truly updated and could help.

I am also open to finding legit work-at-home jobs with no out-of-pocket fess for anything. I would also be glad to have good leads on part-time jobs.

I am religiously looking for work every second but also trying to find any other opportunities to help me financially because I know that jobs are hard to find.

I am interested in also establishing a business before or during the process of me continuing my education as a nonprofit childcare center.

It would cater to the needs of single parents and their children that face challenges and hardships of not having that full support to assist with the nurturing care of their children while they look for a job, working, going to school, at meetings etc.

As you see my business will be a reflection of who I am, what I have gone through and where I am going.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Georgia.