Header for Ability Mission

36 Year Old PKD Disabled Woman Seeks Government Housing Grant

by Denise Harmon
(McGuffey, Ohio, USA)

Hi my name is Denise Harmon I am a 36-year-old woman with a disability. I would love to tell you my story so here goes.

I was born and raised in Houston, Texas. I moved to McGuffey, Ohio when I was 14. I went to school at USV. I had my now 18 year old when I was 17.

I worked and went to school. Although I quit school, I still got my GED. I had my daughter when I was 20 and was done with having kids. I knew that is all I could take.

Then I lost my daughter's father when she was five. I have been mom and dad forever it seems.

When I was 27, I found out that I have polycystic kidney disease (PKD). That is where my life went downhill.

I was told to stop working and to apply for disability. It took nine long years. I lost my home and insurance, and had to move in with my mom.

I am trying to buy this house. It's bad. It has no foundation under it and not enough room for all of us.

I would just like to have a house for all of us to live in and have room to be a family my son and daughter sleep in the garage. Upstairs you cannot stand up without hitting you head.

My mom sleeps in the living room and my husband and I sleep on two couches in the dining room.

It needs to be torn down and rebuilt, but the money is not there. Please help us. The only cure for this disease is a transplant; good luck with that one!

Click here to post comments

Return to US Ohio.