Header for Ability Mission

43 Year Old Bipolar Disabled Veteran Seeks Grant For Business Education

by Darren
(Lancaster, CA, USA)

I am a 43-year-old bipolar disabled veteran of the United States Air Force. I'm looking for an education grant.

I have four wonderful children, one biological and three stepchildren that I have raised as my own. I continue to support them even though I am divorced from their mother.

1. Free Advocacy Help
Get a real disability advocate working for you all at no cost to you. (...more)
2. Grant Search Online
Find grants online more easily. Search a huge database of top resources. (...more)

I have been married three times. Each failure was a result of the same patterns of behavior caused by my disability. I take full responsibility for my actions. I should have sought treatment sooner.

Two years ago I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder and began treatment with anti-depressants and mood stabilizers.

My life had pretty much hit rock bottom, I was bankrupt, my wife and I were separated and fighting all the time, and my kids did not want me around.

I was depressed and angry all the time. At one point before we separated, my children would call to see what kind of mood I was in before they would come home.

It is at this point I began to seek help. After I began treatment, I also began therapy with a counselor to work through the emotional issues caused by my illness.

Within months my children were able to see a dramatic difference in me. I continue to be very diligent about taking my medication because I know it is what helps make my life as "normal" as possible.

I have never sought any disability benefits, as I have always been capable of working, even at the lowest points in my life. In fact as my family life deteriorated my career soared.

Though I make good money, I have four children to care for, two in college and two college-bound in a couple of years.

I currently pay child support for my biological daughter, and even though I am not obligated to pay anything, I provide support for my three stepchildren one of which lives with me.

It is difficult because I have been paying back taxes for the home I lost to foreclosure, plus I have no exemptions, so I get hit pretty hard on the taxes.

I do not live an extravagant life, I support my children and I work. That is pretty much it.

I currently work full-time (40+) hours a week as a supervisor for a government contractor. I have continually tried to find part-time work, but as I live in a remote area North of Los Angles, the job market is slim, and there are a lot of unemployed aerospace workers looking for employment.

I am currently seeking a grant to complete my Bachelors Degree in Business, this will allow for more upward mobility and versatility in my career.

I should be able to complete my degree in about two and a half years for about $10,000. This will enable me to have more upward mobility within the company I work for, and provide an opportunity for me to relocate closer to my biological daughter who lives back east.

Click here to post comments

Return to US California.