Header for Ability Mission

44 Year Old Single Mom Seeks Grant Money For Laptop And Education

by Shawn Pirrie
(Perryville, MO, USA)

I am a 44-year-old never-married single mother of a 15-year-old son that I have solely supported his whole life.

I also have a 26-year-old son who has been incarcerated most of his adult life. The only other family I have left is my sister. My parents have passed away.

I quit working approximately 10 years ago, due to my social anxiety.

I am on disability because I am manic-depressive. I have been on disability approximately 7 years.

I have ongoing depression, and social anxiety. Since getting on disability I have developed chronic back pain due to degenerative disc disease and arthritis in my lower back.

I cannot stand in one place or walk for more than 10 minutes without having extensive pain in my lower back.

I am currently enrolled in a pain clinic, and I am still on anti-depressants, bipolar medicine, and anxiety medicine, as well as sleeping pills for insomnia.

My disability status is totally and permanently disabled.

I have difficulties paying my bills from month to month. I cannot work outside my home due to my anxiety and back pain.

I have no special equipment needs at this time. I have a car, so have no need for transportation.

I have great difficulty paying my utility bills in the winter and summer.

I haven't gotten a cost of living raise on my social security for the last 2 years, so it is even more of a burden on me to buy food and budget my money due to the cost of living increases.

Since I cannot work out of my home, I have no extra income.

I receive $1,012 a month from social security disability. I receive $106 from social services for food stamps and I am on Medicaid and Medicare.

I have never received child support.

I utilize a food pantry every month. The church helps me pay $100 every 6 months for my utility bills.

I have section 8 housing, so I pay $231 a month for rent.

When they have funding, East Missouri Action Agency helps with my utilities, usually $50 to $100 every year.

I have sought work-from-home jobs for a couple years, but to no avail. I have no extra money to pay them for startup costs. Plus I don't want to get scammed.

I have decided to get my medical billing/coding certificate so that I can work from home.

I've worked in health care most of my working life, as well as working for Blue Cross/Blue Shield as a claims processor.

I would like to become self sufficient so that I can sufficiently support my son and me and live comfortably without relying on the government to take care of us.

If I can get off social security I figure that could help someone else who needs it.

I need a laptop so that I can take my classes online, plus I will need one to work as a biller/coder from home to make a living to take care of my son and me.

I am currently working with vocational rehabilitation to get help paying my schooling. Thank you for helping me on my quest for a grant.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Missouri.