Header for Ability Mission

47 Year Old Mid Brain Disabled Man Seeks Grant Money For Accessible Home

by Carson Dennis
(Donalsonville, Georgia, USA)

I'm a 47-year-old man, married to the love of my life and we have 2 boys, one 13 and one 19.

I live in Donalsonville (a small town in South Georgia) with my immediate family, as well as my Mom and Dad, my older brother and his family and also my younger sister and her family.

I suffer from a mid-brain injury, which was the result from a car accident I was in back in 1979. I started working in 1983 and continued until 2005 when my condition from the accident seemed to be getting worse.

After seeing a doctor, he advised me to retire from work and go on Disability.

I feel my financial hardship is due to my being put on Disability. I say that because I worked for 28 years and didn't have money troubles and now we do.

We also had a much larger house with a shower in the master bathroom that wasn't a handicap shower but it was a walk in shower, even with the floor.

As well the main door was ground level, our old house was built on a slab and our house now is on a crawl space.

My only income is what I receive from my Disability and my food stamps or EBT. I was told that if I were to work, it would affect the amount we get from those two accounts.

I have received help from my church, as well as our local neighborhood agency. I'm also on a waiting list with "The Brain and Spinal Trust Fund."

Although it could take time, they are going to be getting me a new computer and some much needed dentist work.

I'm thinking that if I can get a grant, I could pay off my bills, clearing up my credit and then I would be able to get a better loan on our house and do the home improvements we need.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Georgia.