Header for Ability Mission

59 Year Old Disabled Woman Trying to Change Life Around After Bad Choices

by Norma Reedy
(Delhi, LA, USA)

I am a 59-year-old, divorced, disabled woman who has two children and four grandchildren.

I had a good job at the post office, but made some bad choices and did some things I am not proud of that resulted in a felony conviction.

I am basically not a bad person and I accept responsibility for my bad choices and wish to start over again and become a productive member of society.

I live in a small, rural town in Northeast Louisiana, but am not in contact with my children or grandchildren because of my past mistakes which they are having trouble accepting.

I am in a wheelchair diagnosed with avascular necrosis in my right hip and have been told I am not a candidate for hip replacement.

I am also prediabetic, with hypertension, high cholesterol, osteoarthritis and high triglycerides, along with mild depression.

I was in an auto accident in 2005 and have been in the wheelchair since 2008.

I am able to drive, but since all I receive is $674 per month in SSI and $117 per month in food stamps, I cannot afford a vehicle and therefore am unable to seek employment outside the home.

I have to rely on my brother and sister-in-law to take me to the store for groceries or to doctor appointments and I try to plan appointments for their convenience.

I am on Medicare and Medicaid and have several prescriptions to fill every month with some out of pocket expense.

I am on a waiting list for HUD housing so the majority of my income (at least $550 a month) goes to rent and utilities, leaving me with very little to get by on the rest of the month.

I do have a manual wheelchair being purchased through Medicare, but my mobility is decreasing and I would like to get a powered chair but do not have the funds.

I would like some type of monetary assistance to help me get back on my feet and become a contributing member to the workforce.

I would really like to be able to get a vehicle and a power chair so I can actively seek employment or find work at home that is legitimate.

But without a decent professional wardrobe or transportation, I don't know where else to turn.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Louisiana.