Header for Ability Mission

Accident Disabled Man Seeks Government Grant For School And Daily Needs

by Rodney Thompson
(Columbus, Ohio, USA)

I'm Rodney. I'm 51 years old. I am not married and have no children, unless you count my therapy dog Gracie Mae.

I live with the love of my life Becky, whom I hope to marry when my financial future is more certain.

I am also, a recovering alcoholic, and have been sober for over 11 years going on 12.

1. Free Advocacy Help
Get a real disability advocate working for you all at no cost to you. (...more)
2. Grant Search Online
Find grants online more easily. Search a huge database of top resources. (...more)

Disability Issues

I was struck by a car when I was three years old and outside playing with my brother. I spent three months in a coma and some time in a body cast.

This put me back to square one in development, causing me to lag behind my peers. I was older than the kids around me and my social skills suffered.

Although it was difficult I was able to go through school, without needing to be in special classes.

When I was 20 and a sophomore in High School, I got picked on by the other children. It became intolerable, so my mother urged me to take the GED. I passed that and no longer had to face the daily ridicule.

I began my employment then as a State Tested Nursing Assistant (STNA). So I began working and at the same time, drinking to cope.

I did that job on and off for 13 years. Then my father passed away in a bar. I decided that wasn't the way I wanted to go, so I became sober.

After my dad passed my mother became very ill, and I took care of her until she passed. At the time my mother was the only support system available to me, since my siblings used my disability to their advantage, using me and abusing me.

My therapist and my girlfriend helped me see that there was more to life and I have since severed ties with the ones who would use me for their personal gain.

I have enrolled in college to eventually give up my disability and have a supportive career, taking care of myself and my family.

Financial Hardship

Since I receive social security disability, my financial hardship is lessened, but by the end of the month money is tight and I would like to be able to do extra enjoyable things.

Yes I would rather feel the sense of accomplishment of earning the money myself. But, the fear of becoming homeless again is almost a crippling thought.

I know there is more to life than just living paycheck to paycheck, and driving around in a car that is almost 20 years old and has some service issues.

There always seem to be more month than money. When I get paid on the first, it all goes back out in bills.

Since I am returning to school, a little extra would be a godsend.

Sometimes I can't even afford the co-pay on my medications, so I go without my antidepressants. This starts a downward spiral that is hard to pull myself out of.

I would like not to have to worry about this while I'm in school and not suffer from the crippling fears and pitfalls that come from not being stable mood wise.

Earning Efforts

When I worked, I coped by drinking, which I have given up now. In the past it hindered my performance in the work force.

I no longer have that hindrance, and for the first time in my life, I HAVE an amazing support system. And no one is waiting for me to fail so they can feel better about themselves. I believe I can do this and am excited about what my future holds.

Specific Needs

I am looking for help to be able to go to college and not have debt looming over my head for years to come.

I also need something to help me avoid the panic of where I'm going to get the money to pay for this or that.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Ohio.