Header for Ability Mission

Acid Attack Disabled Single Mother Seeks Facial Reconstruction Assistance

by Hanifa Nakiryowa
(Kampala, Uganda, Africa)

Before and After the Acid Attack

Before and After the Acid Attack

I am a Ugandan single mother aged 30 years.

I am fairly educated with a Bachelor's Degree of Science with Education (Economics and Mathematics) from Makerere University Kampala.

I also have a Master of Arts degree in Economics from the University of Nairobi.

1. Free Advocacy Help
Get a real disability advocate working for you all at no cost to you. (...more)
2. Grant Search Online
Find grants online more easily. Search a huge database of top resources. (...more)

I have been married for seven years, but I am now raising my children as a single mother. I have got two daughters; one is six years and the other is two and a half years.

Disability Issues

I have a scarred face with a disfigured nose and a damaged eye as a result of an acid attack.

This happened nine months ago when the father of my children called me to the place I was attacked from.

The scars keep getting tighter, which gives me breathing difficulties.

Financial Hardship

I come from a poor family. I have no form of support from the father of my children.

I currently have no home. I simply rely on relatives for shelter.

My nature of work at my workplace involves a lot of movements which I can no longer do with ease and this has affected my earnings.

The medication that I require is very expensive for me to afford consistently.

Earning Efforts

Before this disability, I worked with a Muslim faith-based organization (Uganda Muslim Supreme Council) as a monitoring and evaluation officer on a full-time basis.

It was in partnership with UNICEF on a project program of "keeping mothers and children alive, safe and learning."

I also worked as a part-time lecturer at the Islamic university in Uganda, in the department of economics at the undergraduate level to supplement my income.

Specific Needs

I need a grant to assist me with facial reconstructive surgeries as well as a corneal graft for the right eye, which have to be done abroad.

I would also need a grant to construct a humble home for me and my children.

For sustainability, I need a grant of US$45,000. With this money, I would operate a public service vehicle/taxi business (mini bus).

One mini bus would cost about US$15,000. I would need three of them to make an average living.

The operator would remit US$125 per week for each mini bus into my account, which is a monthly income of US$500 per mini bus, giving a total monthly income of US$1500.

Click here to post comments

Return to Outside US/CA.