Header for Ability Mission

Bill Paying Grant Money For Woman Disabled By Antiphospholipid Syndrome

by Renesta Wright
(Atlanta, Georgia, USA)

I am a 38-year-old female, single with three kids. I like spending time with my kids who are active with school and church.

I like to read and write in my spare time. I am reliable and can adapt to any situation. I am always striving to make a better life for my kids.

Disability Issues

I didn't know I had antiphospholipid syndrome until I began working 12-hour shifts. In 1998, I began to develop blisters that turned to ulcers on my feet and ankles.

The ulcers form anytime I am on my feet for an extended period of time. Each ulcer takes 6-10 weeks to heal.

Sometimes I have to take an extremely high dosage of prednisone to try and slow the eruption. It sometimes helps and other times the side effects outweigh the potential benefits.

I have to take NSAIDs (nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs) daily to keep my ankles and feet from swelling. There are times when it is hard to wear socks and shoes. I have to sleep with my feet elevated.

Financial Hardship

My monthly income doesn't cover my monthly expenses. I can't afford to pay a whole bill at one time. I have to make payment arrangements for utilities.

I can't afford a car. It's even hard to do normal errands when I can't afford public transportation or gas money to give someone for a ride.

To detour the ulcers, I need special compression socks that are $56 and more. I am flat footed so I need inserts or more expensive shoes.

I can't work because all the work experience I have limits me to jobs that require me to be on my feet.

My own transportation would take away some of the pain I have including the stress of not knowing if I will be able to get to the places I need to go.

Income Efforts

I do receive Social Security Disability and it's not enough to cover my bills.

I have tried some local organizations and churches and they all seem to be low on funding.

It's especially hard to get help because I do have a income even though it won't take care of four people.

Specific Needs

A grant that will help me improve my living situation and catch up with my bills will suffice.

I would love to be able to go back to school so I can be trained in something that doesn't require me to be on my feet.

I need a car to be able to take myself to the doctor and my kids to events they participate in.

I would be grateful for anything that improves me and my kids' well being, even if it's not money.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Georgia.