Header for Ability Mission

Bipolar Depressive Man Seeks Grants For School And Financial Stability

by Chris
(Stanton, CA, USA)

I'm a 31-year-old single male diagnosed as bipolar depressive.

My family consists of my mom, sister, brother in law, and niece. I have no military experience.

I live in a sober living house in Stanton California. My therapist and social worker won't clear me to get a job, but insist I go back to school.

I have a background as an EMT and a dive medic. After a lot of consideration and research I am staying in the medical field and will pursue my career as an LVN first, then continue my education while in the field to get my RN.

I was diagnosed three times while in a mental institution. My first diagnosis was bipolar depressive, then depression with a possible borderline personality disorder, then back to bipolar depressive.

At the moment it's just been deep depression. It started about five years ago after returning to California from Louisiana where I was an offshore EMT and Dive Medic.

With every year that has gone by since then, it has been a constant struggle with depression, to the point where I became suicidal.

I fought it as much as I could, but without medication and the therapy help I needed I ended up attempting to commit suicide.

I was stopped and taken to La Palma hospital. I was evaluated and transported to the Evaluation and Treatment Service Center in Santa Ana.

My official diagnosis is bipolar depressive. For the time being my medication is keeping me stable, but some days are better than others. I just take it day by day.

Not being allowed to work is very taxing. Financially I have nothing. My family is keeping a roof over my head and food in my stomach, and clothes on my back.

My sister even gave me back an old jeep I had given to her awhile back. It's very old and barely runs but it's better than nothing.

My SDI has been denied twice because it wasn't filed right. That's what they told me anyways. I've filed again and will have to wait another month to see how it turns out.

It's really hard on my family to help me. They have all put their lives on hold till I get back on my feet.

I need help with housing, food, gas, medication, and going back to school so I can make something of myself and give back my family what they have given me, and to be able to take care of myself and get well.

While waiting to see if my benefits are granted I've tried to apply for some grants but haven't heard anything yet. At the moment I have no source of income outside of what help my family gives me.

I need the funding to go back to school, and help with housing, food, clothing, bills, vehicle maintenance so I have transportation available when needed, and possible help with debt that I am in.

Also, it would be great if my disability benefits are granted. Overall, I really need financial help to get back to living a normal life.

I want to go back to school and become somebody. I don't want to be a burden on my family anymore, and I want to get well.

I just need some funding to help get started and stay stable. If anyone out there can help me, I will forever be in your debt.

Click here to post comments

Return to US California.