Header for Ability Mission

Bipolar Disabled Woman Seeks Grant Money Help To Make Life Better

by Paula
(Berkely, NJ, USA)

I am a 49-year-old female, who suffers with Bipolar Disorder, OCD, Fibromyalgia, Epstein Barr and herniated disks.

I was divorced 2006, and recently remarried.

I have three (3) children, one (1) from my first marriage (her father died in the WTC 9/11), and two (2) from my second husband, who filed for divorce while I was in the hospital after a bipolar crisis.

I returned to school in 2008 in an effort to try and better myself and, hopefully, attain a job in the field of law.

I graduated with my Associates Degree in Paralegal Studies in 2010, Summa Cum Laude. I have since returned to pursue my Bachelor's Degree in Paralegal Studies.

I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder and OCD in August of 1996, Epstein Barr in 2006, Fibromyalgia in 2009, and Herniated Disks in 2010.

I suffered a bipolar crisis in February of 2005, which resulted in an attempted suicide and hospitalization. I returned home to be served with divorce papers, loss of custody, and homeless.

I returned to school in 2008 hoping to further my education for work in the field of law. I had gone through a very messy divorce and custody case and wanted to help others in similar situations.

Fortunately, I have not suffered another crisis since then. I have suffered with bipolar disorder my entire life, although diagnosed in 1996, and have been on medication to stabilize me.

In 2010, I became disabled and am currently seeking assistance from SSD. I have not received their decision since filing in April of this year (2011).

My disability is due to Epstein Barr Virus, Fibromyalgia, and two (2) herniated disks in my neck.

I did not include my bipolar for SSD, as I have been stabilized and have continued to follow my doctor's orders.

I am also a recovering alcoholic/addict, celebrating 8 years of sobriety/clean time in February of 2011.

I am currently receiving private long-term disability from my last employer, which will continue through September 2012.

The amount is substantially less than my prior income. My income will not increase upon receiving SSD.

I am currently awaiting foreclosure proceedings to begin on my home, which will possibly leave me homeless.

I have been unable to pay most of my credit debts in the last few months.

At times, I have difficulty doing any activities. Most nights, I need help undressing. I used to have someone come in to clean for me; however, I can no longer afford that either.

I shop for groceries via the Internet and home delivery to assist in my inability to do most activities.

I am paying over $575 a month for private health insurance, which is also a burden.

I am struggling to make the payments to Kaplan University for the amount my financial aid did not cover. The cost is approximately $172 per month.

I have attempted to get state financial assistance to no avail. I am currently awaiting NJSSD decision, which will not affect my current income of $1831 per month.

My fiancé helps with the bills, although his income is only $19,600 (approximately) per year, before taxes.

I have shared custody of my two (2) teenage children and do not receive any child support.

I have been told I am ineligible for grants and wanted to seek out another alternative. I came across possible assistance here.

I do receive financial aid, which I do not have to start paying until I finish school, which will be another hardship for me.

I am hoping that you are able to point me in the direction of assistance with grants for my continued education, as well as any other assistance available for my situation.

Click here to post comments

Return to US New Jersey.