Header for Ability Mission

Bipolar Disorder Disabled Doyle Seeks Grant For Daily Expenses And Store

by Doyle Johnson
(Atmore, Alabama, USA)

My name is Doyle Orvin Johnson Jr. I am a 40-year-old bipolar man. I live with my fiancée in Atmore, Escambia County in Alabama.

My fiancée has two children: a daughter named Kristy and a son named Derek whom we have to help out with money quite a bit, as he is trying to get on Disability.

We have two dogs: a male named Jojo and a female named Samantha.

1. Free Advocacy Help
Get a real disability advocate working for you all at no cost to you. (...more)
2. Grant Search Online
Find grants online more easily. Search a huge database of top resources. (...more)

Disability Issues

I've been diagnosed with bipolar disorder and major manic depression and an antisocial disorder.

I also have pinched nerve damage in my lower back and numbness down my right leg. Back in December 2013 I had to have carpal tunnel surgery on my right hand. As soon as it is fully healed I also have to have surgery on my left hand.

Financial Hardship

I was awarded Social Security Disability, which pays $872 a month. SSD allows me minimal work opportunities though due to my illness.

Thank God my medical pays my basic prescriptions, but it does not pay for dental and after we pay our bills we don't have any left.

Income Efforts

I have been to some of the local churches to get help with food. I make just about $20 dollars too much for other places to help us.

I have tried the whole Internet doing the surveys thing but they never pan out to anything. Most of them only pay between 5 and 15 cents each. Anyway, it's hard for me to sit at the computer all day and do them.

Specific Needs

I need help with the daily expenses. Also I would like to open a small store because we live in a small community and everyone out here has to drive nine miles to the nearest store or business.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Alabama.