Header for Ability Mission

Bone Cancer Disabled Family Man Seeks Help To Smooth Rough Disability Life

by Derrick
(Marrero, LA, USA)

I am a 27-year-old guy that loves music. I'm also a loving father with three beautiful daughters.

I have always been a family man. I'm the person you can talk to when something is wrong.

I love sports. I played football most of my school years.

In the summer of 2008 I found out that I had bone cancer in my left thigh. The tumor in my leg was very aggressive and was rapidly growing.

By November of 2008 my left leg was amputated from the hip. I could no longer stand without assistance. I had to learn how to walk with crutches.

At the age of 24 my life changed.

I was no longer able to work as a supervisor at the Sheraton of New Orleans. I didn't know how I was going to provide for my kids.

It was difficult to adjust to just waking up and going to the restroom because everything I needed to do I had to make sure I had crutches.

Recovering from major surgery, I had to take pain pills. Some of them made me sick.

Going outside and playing with my kids was not possible because I can no longer run. I never would have thought my life would be this different.

When I first discharged from the hospital I had no income. I didn't know how and where to get income.

I was used to working long hours to provide for my family and myself. I asked for help from family and friends, but there's only so much they can do.

I was stuck with no income and no way to earn some.

After six months I was able to get SSDI. I still need financial help though, because what I was awarded is not enough to make a living.

Every month I struggle to put food on the table. I don't receive food stamps.

I'm in need of some equipment to help me get around. I just don't have enough money to afford a wheelchair, new crutches and power chair.

My life has been rough with my disability and it's only getting worse.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Louisiana.