Header for Ability Mission

Business Grant Or Loan For Breast Cancer Disabled Survivor To Buy Local Store

by Lesa Ann
(Pomeroy, Ohio, USA)

I am a 51-year-old mother of three daughters I have raised on my own. I attended school while raising them to become a nurse.

I have worked as a home health nurse for the past eight years.

I have a fiancé of 7 years. He was given custody of his kids 5 years ago. We bought a home in Meigs County, Ohio to raise the two kids.

In 2010 I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I had a bi-lateral mastectomy and am taking a five-year medication as prevention.

I was put off work temporarily for the physical recovery, then at eight weeks I was put off work indefinitely due to the emotional healing that needed to take place.

During this past year I have had surgery to remove skin cancer on my chest and shoulder area and half my nose has been removed.

Being out of work and without an income has taken a toll on me. I applied for SSI/disability in October 2010 and have been denied twice and am waiting on a hearing to be scheduled.

I am working with a counselor and some anti-depressants to heal my psyche. I feel getting back to some kind of work will help tremendously.

Of course without a job the financial hardship is huge! We have done anything we can to make ends meet these past two years.

We must travel ninety miles one way to the doctor. The travel is taking a toll on my vehicle.

All last winter we struggled each month with paying our electricity, just keeping it on.

I have worked since I was twelve years old. I have experience in grocery and carryout. I worked for 15 years as a veterinary technician/office manager.

The past 10 years I have held LPN jobs. Since my cancer diagnosis I have junked, sold pawpaws, walnuts, craft items, spice berries, plants, soaps and candles.

I have been a driver providing rides for the Amish. I have received a cash card from the American Cancer Society for gas to appointments.

In terms of business grants or loans, I'm looking for $20,000 as a down payment on a business I want to purchase.

I am also looking for any help that is available to me. If there is anything else I would benefit from, please point me in the right direction.

The business I want to purchase is a carryout. It is located just half a mile from a main interstate. It has an alcohol license and sells pizza and subs.

I would stock the shelves with some grocery items like milk, bread, cereal, etc. I would open at 6:00 am and offer breakfast food, fresh coffee and a daily lunch special.

I would become a check station for hunters. In the winter I would offer firewood for sale.

I would include my craft items for sale. I would make a deal with the Amish to sell their products.

I want to turn this into a rural general store. My fiancé and I would run the store until we were able to afford to pay an employee.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Ohio.