Header for Ability Mission

COPD And Arthritis Disabled Man Seeks Government Grant For Wheelchair Van

by Wayne Overstreet
(Elmwood, TN, USA)

I'm a 57-year-old man. I'm not married and I have no children.

I'm responsible though for taking my 77-year-old mother where she needs to go.

I was born in Smith County, Tennessee and have lived in the Conditt Hollow all of my life.

My father will be 80 years old on October 5, 2012.

Disability Issues

I have a breathing problem, and a paralyzed diaphragm. I also have COPD. I'm on oxygen day and night for this.

My diaphragm became paralyzed in late 2003 for still unknown reasons.

I also have arthritis in both hips and my lower back. My arthritis has just been an ongoing thing gradually getting more severe. I take pain medicine and get injections in the joints for this.

I'm classed as permanently disabled.

Financial Hardship

The car I have now, a 1993 Ford Taurus, was wrecked on my way to Cookeville Regional Center, where I was to have surgery to remove a large kidney stone.

The car wound up in a gully. It was before dawn and the weather was bad. The car would cost more to fix than it is worth.

As I have trouble walking, what I really need is a motorized wheelchair and a van, but I don't have enough money for that.

It is difficult to go for groceries, to get to doctors and specialists' appointments and many other need-to-go places when you have no transportation of your own.

Earning Efforts

I'm unable to work and must get by on a small SSI check but that doesn't go very far. By the time I pay all my other bills not much is left.

I pay for some of my medicines also some co-pays. I do get help from low-income home energy assistance. I also get food stamps.

That's about as much help as I get.

Specific Needs

What I really need is a motorized wheelchair and a good dependable van.

I have never applied for any kind of assistance till now. I hope to get help somehow.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Tennessee.