Header for Ability Mission

CP Disabled 41 Year Old Man Seeks Grant Money For Wheelchair Accessible Van

by Bobby
(Lawton, OK, USA)

I am a 41-year-old man with cerebral palsy since birth. I have been in a wheelchair since I was born.

I have two different types of cerebral palsy: spastic and ataxia. It affects my speech and all my extremities, leaving me unable to walk.

I have graduated high school and I have a BA in psychology, a BS in family relations and child development, a BS in sociology, and an MS in vocational rehabilitation counseling.

The reason I need a wheelchair accessible van is because I have an electric wheelchair and it is becoming impossible for people to transport me from one place to another out of town.

In town I ride my wheelchair everywhere I go, which causes excessive wear and tear on it and causes problems when there is bad weather like rain or snow.

My girlfriend has degenerative bone disease and other medical problems. She does have a driver's license though and could drive us to where we need to go, if only we had a vehicle.

With both of us disabled, we are on a fixed income. We get SSI for the disabilities and food stamps and we are on Section 8 housing.

All our money goes on bills every month. We have nothing left over to put toward the purchase or rental of a vehicle, which is why I'm looking for some government grant money.

If there is anyone out there that can help, we would be greatly appreciative. Sincerely, Bobby and Dawn.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Oklahoma.