Header for Ability Mission

Diabetic Wife Seeks Disability Funding For Electric Wheelchair Van And Lift

by Linda McIntosh
(Canton, Ohio, USA)

I am a 68-year-old married woman retired from 21 years as an administrative secretary.

I have two sons, two granddaughters and four great grandchildren, who all live in Illinois.

My husband is a 63-year-old Navy machinist mate 1st class who left the service after 10 years and went into the IT field and retired 10 years later.

He has two sons, two daughters, four grandsons. One son and one daughter were adopted and the one daughter was murdered in 2006.

Disability Issues

My disabilities are deafness in one ear and half in the other, Type 1 diabetes, fibromyalgia, unsuccessful bilateral knee replacements plus bilateral shoulder rotator cuff tears that have re-torn.

I recently had to have a stent put in an artery of my heart. I am unable to walk more than 15 feet without needing to sit down.

I fall very easily so if I were to fall I would not be able to get up by myself. My husband would have to help me; therefore he is my caregiver.

Financial Hardship

We are in debt very deeply. We pay:

$950 for housing
$248 for transportation
$20 for meds that Medicare doesn't pay
$250 for credit cards
$380.52 for utilities
$337 for Medicare per quarter
$165.29 for United Health Care Supplemental Insurance
$70.90 for Express-Scripts
$40 for back taxes
$43 for my husband's meds

We also have gas for the car and food to pay for.

Income Efforts

My husband has looked for part-time work he could do in the mornings while I sleep, but hasn't been able to find anything.

No one in our family is in any shape to help. They all have children to take care of.

Specific Needs

I need an electric wheelchair, a van with a wheelchair lift, a service dog, SSI, a grant for the equipment needed and to pay our bills.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Ohio.