Header for Ability Mission

Disability Grant Money To Help Accident Disabled Woman Live Autonomously

by Julie Contreras
(Colton, CA, USA)

I am a 56-year-old Hispanic single mother. I have a 35-year-old daughter and was blessed to have a son for 24 years.

My son Danny passed away 13 years ago. He was a joyful, charming and loving son who always knew what to say or do to help pick me up when I was feeling sad or discouraged.

I miss him very much, but will always have him in my heart.

My daughter has been a big help to me, but she has a family of her own that keeps her busy.

I have three beautiful granddaughters, two very cute grandsons and two adorable great-grandchildren.

Aside from my little family, I am blessed to have my mother who is 74, as well as two sisters and four brothers.

Disability Issues

I wasn't born with my disability. I became paralyzed because of a car accident that happened in March of 1979. It left me a quadriplegic.

Can you imagine how hard it was and has been having to depend on someone to help me do almost everything?

My life hasn't been easy, but I've had spiritual and family support that has been a blessing for me. I've been able to move forward with my life even though I've had many obstacles I've had to overcome.

When I was finally able to move out on my own with a live-in-attendant my life has changed to where I feel more confident and I felt like there was a reason for me still being here.

Financial Hardship

I have had wonderful loving attendants who have been a blessing. One attendant in particular has moved me and motivated me to accomplish many things in life.

She encouraged me to return to school. I was able to get my High School diploma, two Associate Degrees, my Bachelors and a Teaching Credential.

I was able to work for two years as a GED Instructor, but was laid off.

Along the way, I was given a van with a lift and a computer from the State Rehabilitation Department. This is where my money issues begin.

My computer is now too slow, my van needs repairs and because of my fixed income I live from pay check to pay check and it seems like I never have enough, so I borrow money from family, friend and even the Payday Advance.

I need new furniture. I was able to buy sofas the last time I received an income tax return, but after 11 years they are all worn and torn.

I need my computer because I tutor at home. I help family and friends find resources or help fill out forms online. It's a necessity for me to communicate and keep in touch with others.

My van needs a couple of major and other minor repairs that need to be taken care of now before it gets to be many major problems. I need my van to go to church, to just take a ride sometimes or to go visit a friend.

I usually go visit a family member in San Diego once a year, but wasn't able to go because financially I wasn't able to do it.

I had to borrow money this month to pay for my tags and insurance.

I also need to see a dentist, but can't afford it.

Income Efforts

I get tired of borrowing money, but my SSI income isn't enough.

I don't want to be a burden on family, friends and society.

Fellow church members have put gas in my van so I could go to church or an event. I've even gone to church driving my wheelchair when the weather wasn't too cold or too hot.

I would like to get a job working on the computer from my home. I know I can still contribute to society I have so much life in me still that I know with the right job I can help others instead of them helping me.

Specific Needs

What I'm looking for is grant so that I can buy and repair some things that I need to help me be more self-reliant and help others.

I also would like advice from others on how to get a job or what at home jobs are reliable.

Someone who can financially give me a much needed helping hand would be so appreciated.

Click here to post comments

Return to US California.