Header for Ability Mission

Disability Grant To Help Big Man With Bad Back Get Walk In Shower And Chair

by Charles Schaffer
(Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA)

I am 45, male, and living in the family home with my disabled and retired mother.

I have no children.

I was an automobile mechanic for many years.

I have lived in my current home since 1978. It's not much, but it's home.

Disability Issues

I am a large man with a few back problems.

I am on permanent disability.

I am missing the cartilage in three places between the disks in my spine. I also have bone spurs on my spine that pinch the nerves going to my arms and hands.

My lower legs, ankles and feet swell.

I also have knee and hip problems.

I have been a bigger man my whole life, and along with my size, my years as being a mechanic and lifting heavy things have caught up with me.

I was put on permanent disability in 1998.

Financial Hardship

I am on no medications. If I stay off of my feet, simple Aleve helps with my pain.

I have an automobile loan that I pay for.

I took it out so I would have a vehicle new enough to hopefully not need any repairs for a while.

The last couple of times that I did repairs myself, I was laid up with back, hip, neck, and feet pain for two to three days afterwards.

My home is a doublewide that was built in 1978. I took out a bank loan to install a new heat pump.

I receive an EBT (Electronic Benefits Transfer) food card allowance each month, but the amount has been almost been cut in half this year.

The small amount I receive each month from SSI and disability just barely gets me by after paying my bills.

Income Efforts

I receive SSI and Social Security Disability.

My local church has no money for donations and no longer gives out food baskets.

I can find no grants in my small area.

Specific Needs

I only seek enough of a grant to buy and have a new large walk-in shower with a shower chair installed in my bathroom.

This would replace the old trailer-type narrow plastic bathtub/shower that is in my bathroom now.

It would make at least one part of my life easier.

It would also be nice to pay down my vehicle loan.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Ohio.