Header for Ability Mission

Disability Grant To Help Trichotillomania Disabled Man With Transportation

by James Thomas
(Columbus, Ohio, USA)

I am 44 years old and an only child. I've never been married and have no children myself.

I have my high school diploma as well as a certificate in vocational training.

I've been on my own for 15 years. My dad died at age 47 of a heart attack.

I've lived in different parts of Ohio and a few years in Kentucky. I currently live in Columbus, Ohio.

No family live near me. My mom lives about an hour away. She is remarried. Her husband is a diabetic and just got his leg cut off.

My mom's been retired on a pension for about 10 years. She keeps checking up on me like most mothers.

She worries about me. Every day I try to reassure her that I am okay. I usually don't go to many places at night so she doesn't worry about that.

The area where I've lived for the past five years has it ups and downs. It's an apartment community with all different types of people due to the income status.

Disability Issues

My disability made itself known when I was a child. I had real bad nerves to the point that I would pull out the hair all over my body. The condition has a weird name (Trichotillomania) and it's stress-related.

I also suffer from lack of sleep and chest pains. It's been with me all of my life. It caused me to have bad handwriting, which is a reason I can't land a job.

I'm currently trying to find another doctor for meds.

SSI is reviewing my case. I'm a little nervous about that not knowing what they're looking for.

Financial Hardship

My financial hardship concerns my truck. It is down and it is the only transportation I have to get to my doctor's and other important places.

There are people who don't have a car due to their finances. My friend's family only comes around once a while, so I like being there to help take him to the nursing home and church.

It's hard getting back and forth to get groceries or water. I can only carry so much on the bus.

I had to cancel some appointments for doctors on because some of them are out of bus range.

I have no family or close friends to take me anywhere. Most of the people I know are hours away. It's been very depressing not being able to go and help others in dire need.

Income Efforts

I've tried to see if I could do some work-at-home projects over the Internet but none seem to pan out.

My mom sends a few dollars now and then.

My check from SSDI covers rent, gas, electric, car insurance, phone, washing and some personal grooming items, like getting a haircut.

I can't really save for gas to and from places like doctors, church or friends.

Specific Needs

I would like to have my own business to help people who are in dire straits like myself.

How would I go about getting help for people who need housing and transportation to get around that doesn't cost them an arm and a leg?

I could use a vehicle on Sundays to transport people who want to go to church but don't have anyone to take them.

Business Idea

I would love to have a grant of $10,000 to $20,000. This would cover the cost of starting up, including licenses and other legal things it requires.

I would like a place for people who don't meet certain aspects of other programs when it comes to decent housing and good transportation.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Ohio.