Header for Ability Mission

Disability Grants For Back Pain Disabled Michael To Repair Home Or Pay Mortgage

by Michael Mitchell
(Cincinnati, OH, USA)

Michael Mitchell
I am 56 years old and I have had two wives. My first wife and I, her name was Pam, were married for 22 years and we had two beautiful children: my daughter, Angel, now 34 years old and my son, Michaelchristian, now 25 years old.

My first wife died of cancer back in 2003. All of us have ALWAYS been involved heavily with my church and with music. Since her death, things have been a struggle spiritually, emotionally and financially. My second wife is also deceased.

I have two pets: a lady French bulldog named Jasmine who is five years old and she is a really good dog and I have a male cat named Porsche (his name is pronounced Porsh, not Porsha).

Through it all, we are still a happy and loving family that has not and will not ever change.

Disability Issues

I have had back trouble for years due to working in a nursing facility. By myself, more often than not, I would have to lift up several patients by myself.

I did this type of work off and on for 20 years in my role as Activities Director for four or five senior nursing facilities.

My breaking point with this back trouble was that I simply GOT TIRED of being in pain EVERY DAY ALL OF THE TIME. I researched options such as therapy, surgery and pain management and I opted for spinal surgery.

The surgeons built two discs in my back for L2, L3, L4 AND S1, which is below all of the others at the very bottom of my spine. This was back in December of 2014. I still have pain but it's not as bad.

I received four weeks of therapy in May 2016. I still do need to rely on my back brace from time to time. I used to walk four miles three times a week but since the surgery, I only walk a mile and a half twice a week.

I am currently getting SSD benefits. I get $1100 a month in Disability and I get $16 a month in Food Stamps.

Financial Hardship

I don't have enough income month to month to pay all my bills. With $40,000, I could be able to do quite a bit. The house is a three-bedroom ranch with no basement.

A hole inside the house lets animals enter. The central air unit was stolen a week before we moved in. The shed has a leaky ceiling resulting in water damage, and animals also get into the shed.

One reason I am in this situation is that I owe back mortgage for a whole year. Huntington Bank wouldn't work with me to modify my loan since my name was not found on the loan; it was only in my second wife's name.

It was a battle. As of a year, I am still fighting the bank to put the loan in my name. The home was awarded to me in Probate Court in 2013.

The bank says three liens are against the house, all of which are in my deceased wife's name. All three loans total $20,800. The bank says that to rewrite the loan, I must pay the liens off.

I need adequate transportation. My Volvo will cost $1000 in labor alone to get out of the shop. I need another car as well to get me to and from doctor appointments. I have AT LEAST four to five appointments a month.

My monthly income and outgo (expenses) are as follows:

$1100 per month (Disability income)
$570 per month (side income)
$16 per month (Food stamps)

Mortgage: $480 per month
Water bill: $294 per month
Gas and electric: $150 per month
Cell phone: $60
Car note: $360
Gasoline (I travel 60 miles every Saturday to another city to take my client bowling and to Traders World): $200

Both of my dogs get FREE FOOD from a food bank for pets.

After all my bills are paid, I have $126 left over, IF nothing unexpected pops up.

Income Efforts

On the side, I play organ and keyboard for funerals and weddings and I take on extra driving jobs on the side for different handicap companies.

I also take care of an MRDD client on Saturdays from 10am to 2pm. Our time together consists of taking him to Traders World and bowling every Saturday.

Specific Needs

I would use the money for getting my house repaired and paid off OR to bring my mortgage current.

I'd like food so I don't have to go to the Food Bank three times a month.

Also, I need cash to buy clothing and make repairs to my shed and my ceiling.

My house also needs a new sewage line, which will cost $1500 for installing the pipes.

Business Idea

I want to open my daycare for the disabled and seniors, provide transportation to and from the daycare and also provide care in their homes.

The name of the daycare will be the Tyrone Davis Adult Daycare. It is named after my younger brother who died at 37 years of age. He was blind and a diabetic and had dialysis three days a week and he needed 24 hour care. I provided transportation for my brother to and from his appointments.

The personal care business will be called MAMC. This business will provide direct care support for seniors and disabled individuals in their homes.

Services will include cooking, cleaning, ADLs or assisted daily living - like shopping, getting them dressed and getting them out of the community in order to help them REGAIN their independence.

Comments for Disability Grants For Back Pain Disabled Michael To Repair Home Or Pay Mortgage

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 14, 2018
Grandpa raising grandkids disability pending
by: Your Real Nrob hansename

I have been on disability then had spinal implant surgery and they took away my disability.lawyer said since I was over 55 and light duty I shouldn't of lost benefits. So he reapplied and its been 3 years and now its in appeal. My bills have built up and now my wife's divorcing me because of it
.I'm raising 5 grandkids and have no income. How can I get help to keep from losing my home and kids? .rob Hansen 907-232-4535
Please call if u have any helpful ideas

Dec 05, 2016
Simple Things To Do
by: Holland Green

I also received help from Ability Mission. Perhaps you should consider creating a website based on your knowledge and experience from working in nursing homes. I have not looked into it, but it seems like there would be great demand and opportunity for that.

You should also consider examining your budget. I have a straight talk phone from Walmart. I am on Verizon network and I pay $35 a month. You could get a lighter adapter for your car and plug a verizon home based phone into it and have unlimited calling on the go for $20 per month.

You should also consider getting a different car--not another car. Read the book Millionaire Next Door.

Dec 04, 2016
The Workbook is key
by: Don from Ability Mission

Hello Michael,

Congrats on getting your story published! In doing so, you've acquired valuable hands-on experience in responding to precise instructions, the very kind that you will encounter when applying for help of any kind.

You've now earned the right to access the Workbook, which shows you how to use your story as a springboard to getting the help you need.

Don Coggan

Click here to add your own comments

Return to US Ohio.