Header for Ability Mission

Disability Grants For Glen With Degenerative Disc Disease To Build Woodworking Business

by Glen Hendricks
(Springdale, AR, USA)

Glen Hendricks
My name is Glen Hendricks. I’m a 59-year-old man on Disability. I have three grown sons and seven grandkids.

I've lived in Springdale, Arkansas since 1998. I moved here after the passing of my dad in 1996 to help keep an eye on my mom, soon to be 85 years old.

I live in a 540-square-foot apartment with my 12-year-old Pomeranian.

I am just tired of living from day to day with no help and no light at the end of the tunnel.

I am asking for help getting my life back together to where I can get a little bit of pride back!!!

Disability Issues

My Disability began in 2004 when I found out I needed two surgeries. The Hospital called the insurance company and got approval for the first one and I think the records show "Medicare Pending" for the second one.

Anyway, this is still on record at the Hospital.

When I couldn't return at the appointed time, the company terminated me. This I understand because they couldn't hold my job open for the length of recovery time.

But when they terminated the insurance, they BACKDATED it to BEFORE both surgeries. This action put me in MANY thousands of dollars of debt with a stroke of a pen.

This threw me for a mental loop and I almost had a complete breakdown.

I filed for bankruptcy and Disability and got both. The award was not only on grounds of my mental state, but also because of a back problem. I was told by a back specialist that I have what is called "Degenerative Disc Disease" in my lower lumbar.

Counting the first two surgeries, I've been operated on nine times since 2004. This includes both knees, my right shoulder TWICE, both feet, Navel Hernia repair, removal of a growth on the upper inner aspect of my right thigh and a growth removed from the hairline above my left eye.

I've also been diagnosed with a pinched sciatic nerve on my left side, which needs to be repaired.

Financial Hardship

To start with, I make $1072 monthly on Disability. This qualifies me for $16 in food stamps. My bills per month are as follows:

1. Rent - $360 per month
2. Restitution - $100 per month
3. Cable - $116 per month
4. Storage - $40 per month
5. Electricity - $76 (current bill)
6. Truck Insurance - $67 per month
7. Phone - $52 per month

Total bills = $811 for current month

Total left = $261

This remainder is what I have left to pay medical bills, buy groceries, dog food, toiletries, clothes, gas for truck, repairs on truck.

Speaking of my truck, it's a 1997 Ford Ranger pickup. It gets 9 miles per gallon in the city and 11 on the highway. With gas prices this high, I can't afford to drive very far. So, this is a problem that needs checking out.

SOME of the other things it needs are: tires, windshield, seat (sitting on springs), new bed, new grill, new passenger side door and oil change (leaks about four quarts of oil per month).

In a nutshell... I need a better truck! I can't deal with low-slung cars. Getting DOWN into them, and UP out of them hurts my back and knees.

Income Efforts

In 2011, I contacted the Arkansas Rehabilitation Services and acquired two and a half years of education. I finished this education with a 3.64 G.P.A. at the age of 55.

I have looked for work in the two fields the school trained me in, but no-one wants to hire a 59-year-old man on Disability with all the ailments I have.

Specific Needs

Here's what I need:

- a different truck with better gas milage
- a bigger place in order to do woodwork in
- the tools I need to DO the wood work

I am seeking enough help in order to make a better life for myself and be able to afford good food.

I am seeking enough help to pay off some bills and feel good about myself again.

SO... in a nutshell:

1. Better vehicle
2. Bigger place to do wood work
3. Enough monetary help to pay off some bills and be able to keep up with them

I am asking for help today to where eventually I can go see my kids and my grandkids. I want to be able to live life again. I have been living within 90 miles of Branson, Missouri for 18 years and never been anywhere else due to finances. I want to go to the movies again without worry.

Business Idea

I have already taken the knowledge I acquired in school and applied it to something I LOVE doing -- working with my hands and wood!!

I know it isn't much, but I CAN make a few dollars with continued training, the right tools, and a place big enough to do the work in.

Given the time and money, I could even eventually start taking on commissioned work.

Comments for Disability Grants For Glen With Degenerative Disc Disease To Build Woodworking Business

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 15, 2016
by: John Renaud

Sorry about your disabilities. Try your city and state disability resources. There are many places to submit to. If you need more help, leave me a message here.

Jul 14, 2016
Next step is the Workbook!
by: Don from Ability Mission

Hey Glen,

Congrats on getting your story published! The next step is to get the Workbook, which shows you how to use your story to get the help you need.

Don Coggan

Click here to add your own comments

Return to US Arkansas.