Header for Ability Mission

Disability Grants For Victoria With Family Disabilities To Move To New Home

by Victoria Davis
(Bobtown, PA, USA)

Hello! My name is Victoria Davis. I am a 45-year-old, disabled mother of a 12-year-old boy, and a 13-year-old girl, who have disabilities as well. We also have three outstanding service dogs.

Victoria Davis And Her Two Children
Victoria Davis And Her Two Children

We are currently packing up our rental house in Bobtown, Pennsylvania and having to move into a homeless shelter in Waynesburg, Pennsylvania.

Disability Issues

My disabilities began at the age of three in 1975. I fell into a cast iron bathtub cracking my skull and damaging my frontal lobe. At that time it wasn't thought to be a big deal.

I never did well in school. I went to a Catholic school where testing and special education were not thought of as they are now. I had to quit school after the 8th grade, as I couldn't comprehend the materials of high school.

This led to deep depression and anxiety issues (that I am finding out about now).

My father at the same time was having trouble with his Polio and was diagnosed with Diverticulitis, which put him in the ICU during the whole summer of 1985.

My grandfather and I had to take over the running of my father's little auto garage supply business. This meant that I had to do the manual work of lifting and carrying cases of antifreeze, windshield washer solvent, and cases of canned (at that time) oil, at 50-70 pounds per case.

It tore up my still growing back leaving me with scoliosis, degenerative disc disease and ultimately sciatic nerve damage in my legs.

After my grandfather and father's sudden deaths in 2001, I took a job as a cashier and really loved the customer service, but with my disability I was having trouble with the bending and lifting involved.

In 2006 I turned to grab my 16-month-old son, who was running past me, and my back finally gave out.

It left me with three blown disks. Since then three more have blown, trapping my sciatic nerve even more.

I was told that if I keep working, I would be in a wheelchair by the end of the year, so my doctor was the one to start my disability paperwork, even though I didn't want to.

My children's disabilities are probably genetic, or from birth (the doctors really don't know).

My daughter has Asperger's syndrome (medium), high anxiety disorder and a left ear attrition, which has had five major surgeries to try and repair, ending with a Cochlear implant.

Lastly she has an A-I bicuspid heart condition. She is currently waiting for a hearing for her denial of her disability.

My son has Benign Hypermobility with pain. His doctors feel that it will turn into Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis, as he has high sedimentation rates in his blood with a low of 17% to a high so far of 69%.

A normal child has a rate of 0% and a wheelchair-bound child has a rate of 80% or more. He also has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder and Asperger's as well. It is felt that he'll need to get his disability when he's a teenager.

Financial Hardship

Where do I begin? We are losing our rental home, due to the landlord not paying the property taxes.

The new landlord has said that the $250 we pay is much too low and he wants $700. He also has a no pet policy, which means we would have to get rid of our service dogs. As it is a single-family home, discrimination laws of the Americans with Disability Act don't apply.

The housing authorities of Greene county and neighboring counties have no openings at this time. Average rents in our area are between $450-$1000+. Section 8 has been closed for many years, and has no idea when they will open their waiting list.

I don't get enough disability, or have credit for HUD or any rent-to-own programs.

I receive $753 total in disability ($338 Disability & $415 SSI). We do receive $397 in food stamps (which we have to stay in budget on).

The children do receive welfare of $139.50, which we use for the household, and personal things. For one person it isn't bad, but there are three of us and three service dogs.

The $753 I get breaks down for bills like this:

$68 for Gas heating
$75 for water (house has a leak, and I don't have a washer, so I wash clothes out by hand)
$35 for sewer
$78 for electric
$17 for trash
$79 for TV (the cheapest in the area)
$90 for phone (for all three of us, the kids have to have one for school apps)

This totals $442, which leaves $311 for rent at $250, leaving a grand total of $61.

Having my back and nerve conditions, I have never been able to get a driver's license. Our transportation to doctors is covered by the medical transportation van.

For shopping and out of county doctors we rely on neighbors, and they need gas money and want to eat, so there goes the $61.

If you have kids, then you know they don't understand when you say you don't have any money. Birthdays and Christmas, well they're non-existent. At times this leaves me suicidal, but I can't because I'm all that they have and they're I have.

Income Efforts

Being in a rural area, jobs that can be walked to are non-existent. There is no mass transit system in our area.

Neighbors, well they all have jobs that I'm not qualified for or physically cannot do.

Getting a regular ride for a job doesn't exist either, and my back puts me down for two days everyday that I use it.

I have tried to get a GED for many years, but I can't find a way to comprehend the materials to take the test, which I have failed numerous times.

I love customer service jobs, and was contacted by a company through the Social Security ticket to work program. The company does home-based customer service for stores, organizations and even the federal government, starting at $8 to $10 an hour.

I went through the OVR (office of Vocational Rehab) to try and get a job. My first caseworker had never heard of it, and thought it was a scam. The second caseworker had dealt with it and knows that it would be a perfect job for me.

The problem is the bureaucratic red tape that says I have to get the Internet and phone line, and the company must be willing to offer me a full-time job from the beginning, for me to qualify for a computer.

If you look back at my budget, you'll see that that isn't happening, and the company only offers a temp-job for the first 90 days, before they offer full-time or even part-time.

My children and I have even tried cutting grass, shoveling snow, babysitting, and pet sitting, all to no avail.

Specific Needs

I am looking for a one-shot chance to get my children out of this hellish situation. There are small cheap houses in our area that would get us a roof over their heads. My disability would keep us in the house. The houses run around $25,000 - $30,000.

Comments for Disability Grants For Victoria With Family Disabilities To Move To New Home

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 07, 2016
Thank You!
by: Victoria Davis

I didn't know that I was allowed to post my Thank You for publishing here. Thank You so much!

Dec 05, 2016
The Workbook is key
by: Don from Ability Mission

Hey Victoria,

Congrats on getting your story published! In doing so, you've acquired valuable hands-on experience in responding to precise instructions, the very kind that you will encounter when applying for help of any kind.

You've now earned the right to access the Workbook, which shows you how to use your story as a springboard to getting the help you need.

Don Coggan

Click here to add your own comments

Return to US Pennsylvania.