Header for Ability Mission

Disability Grants To Help Disabled Army Vet Ronald Deal With Debt Relief

by Ronald Martinez
(Moreno Valley, California, USA)

I’m a 36-year-old Army Vet guy with sleep apnea. I was born in Costa Rica. I live in Moreno Valley.

I was dating my, back then, girlfriend before getting married and moving in to a rental home this past year. We live with her four kids ranging from 7 to 16 years.

I served in the Army and National Guard from May 1998 to May 2006. I did a tour in Kuwait back in 1999 and another tour in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba in 2005 before being honorably discharged.

Disability Issues

During my military career I endured a few ailments on my knees, causing knee surgery that happened years later due to strenuous moving and crawling in tanks.

My job in the Army and National Guard was a Bradley Tank Mechanic and so that’s all I did in those eight years.

I was also involved in an accident during my last deployment where I was the gunner in a HMVEE and was thrown about 15 feet back.

I don’t remember anything except being in the Navy hospital with doctors around me. I had multiple contusions and a bad concussion that lasted for a week.

I have gone to physical therapies for my surgical right knee and upper right neck trying to ease the pains and strengthen the tendons around the affected areas in the past few years.

It wasn't until two years ago I finally applied for VA disability after searching for help on my own. Last June I was approved for 30% disability for my knee, neck and tinnitus.

Financial Hardship

I am currently appealing a VA claim for sleep apnea that I was diagnosed with this past August. I was given the C-Pap mask that I use at nights.

It might take 6-12 months for the appeal process, but I’m hoping to God I get approved. With this disability rating added to the current 30% that I have, it will help a great deal with all of our financial needs.

We had to buy furniture for the house. That left me with no choice but to use my credit cards to supply for the needs of the furniture, food, clothes, and gas.

My wife doesn't work. She is a stay-at-home mother with a lot of responsibilities at home. My mother, father and brother had lent me money in different occasions before to help pay for rent. I don’t like asking for money, but sometimes there is no other choice.

Income Efforts

I used the Montgomery GI Bill to go to a university and obtain two bachelor degrees. Unfortunately, I was not able to find any type of job in my related fields.

After graduating in 2009, I had a steady job working for the county of Riverside. I felt I wasn't going to advance with my position and so I left and enrolled in a technical school to become a telecommunication and wind turbine technician.

I graduated and started applying to multiple jobs. The only few job offerings I had were far away from home. And now with a new family to support I was not going to be away from my family. Now I owe that school money for a loan and without a job.

Thank God, I was able to find a job through a temp agency that is closer to home. I’m still working there and I love it. The income I receive from work is barely enough for all bills at home.

Specific Needs

I am looking for government grants or other types of aids that I can apply to and would help me and my family move in the right direction.

Utility discounts, free food to families in need would also help us out tremendously.

I am getting tired of reading mail every week of past due bills and late notices.

Click here to post comments

Return to US California.