Header for Ability Mission

Disability Grants To Help Lameness Disabled John Paul Expand Current Cereals Business

by John Muthoka Paul
(Nairobi, Machakos County, Kenya)

John Paul with wife Agnes, son Caleb and baby Benjamin
My name is John Muthoka Paul and I'm from Kenya In East Africa.

Now 43 years old and living with a disability, I'm married to my wife Agnes. We have two sons, Caleb who is 10 and Benjamin who is just one year old.

My residence in Kenya is located in Machakos County. I live with my 70-year-old mom on the land I inherited from my father following his demise a year ago.

The five of us all live together as a family in a three-room brick house of 315 square feet.

Along with my wife, I'm a committed and reliable Christian at my local church.

Disability Issues

My disability life began after I completed my o-level education in 1999, when I was diagnosed with micro-anemia and showed spinal tuberculosis symptoms.

My parents organized a fund-raising event to facilitate the clearing of my hospital bills.

According to the specialist, complications affecting my spinal cord and nervous system at my lower lumbar have resulted in the disability/lameness I have that requires me to walk with crutches.

I've yet to go for specialized medication for the micro-anemia, which occasionally affects me to the point of requiring transfusions to save my life.

Due to lack of funds, I opted for physiotherapy, which was possible at my local government hospital.

Financial Hardship

I run a cereals retail shop, where my monthly profit margin is about $170.

This income enables me to meet these expenses (expressed in US dollars):

• Rent of shop $30
• School levies $35
• Food stamps $40
• Electricity $10
• Water supply $10
• Phone $15

Total expenses: $140

Total balance remaining: $30.

That balance of $30 is what I use for miscellaneous expenses like clothing, groceries, transport and medical bills.

It's hard to make ends meet, but we would definitely be much poorer off without the revenue that the cereals shop generates.

Income Efforts

In 2005 I went to college graduating in 2007 in Business Studies, with a specialty in accounting.

In 2008 I was employed in a high school as an Accounts Clerk.

I worked at that job for two years, until the problem of micro-anemia flared up causing me to be admitted to hospital for a month.

The doctor advised me to take a two-month rest break from work after my discharge. My employer was unable to bear with my situation and therefore replaced me.

In 2012, I approached a micro-finance institution for a loan. It lent me $1000. This allowed me to start up my cereals retail shop at my local urban center, one kilometer away from home.

Specific Needs

One of my fears is whether I'll be able to provide a quality education for my two sons. I would need to increase my current low income considerably to allay that fear.

I'm looking to being able to pay at least $20 a month for each son as a form of education insurance.

I would like to convert my cereals retail shop to a cereals store. This would build so naturally on my business knowledge:

• acquired formally through my education and
• acquired practically through running my shop.

I've already invested $1000. I'd need $9000 to transform my retail shop into a cereals store.

I also intend and would like to be able to make a monthly contribution of $20 for my family hospital insurance coverage.

I'd like a house that would accommodate my family more comfortably. Even though my house has three rooms, it's small and it lacks certain finishing touches like: sofa set, sideboard and other necessities.
The 3-room, 315 sq ft brick home of John Muthoka Paul and his family
The 3-room, 315 sq ft brick home of John Muthoka Paul and his family

I was stricken by this disability while young and it took a lot of courage for me to support my family after termination of my job.

I'm looking forward to living a good and comfortable life, able to forget my disability pains and challenges.

I seek help in order to have a better life together with my beloved family and to be able to eat good food and live comfortably.

I desire also to see my two handsome boys getting their required standard education.

I want to be able to pay all my bills comfortably without the struggle I currently face.

In summary:

• Increase investment capital for my cereals business
• Extension, rehabilitation and varnishing of my house
• Contribution to family hospital insurance coverage
• Contribution to education insurance coverage
• Vehicle to carry cereals to my store and help with my movement

Business Idea

This business of cereals is sustainable because I do both regular farming and irrigation farming to supply my cereals business with farm produce.

With the added investment in my business, I'll enhance this farming with efficient, profit-producing farming equipment and machines.

Comments for Disability Grants To Help Lameness Disabled John Paul Expand Current Cereals Business

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 30, 2017
Congratulations on your progress!
by: Don from Ability Mission

John Paul,

Congratulations on studying the Workbook materials and choosing crowdfunding as your money-raising method. If you keep working hard at with the same can-do attitude, I'm sure you will be a great success!

Don Coggan

May 16, 2017
Now you can access the Workbook!
by: Don from Ability Mission

Hello Joh,

Congrats on getting your story published! In doing so, you've acquired valuable hands-on experience in responding to precise instructions, the very kind that you will encounter when applying for help of any kind.

You've now earned the right to access the Workbook, which shows you how to use your story as a springboard to getting the help you need.

Don Coggan

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Outside US/CA.