Header for Ability Mission

Disability Grants To Help Legally Blind Phillip Find Housing And Earn GED

by Phillip Price
(Austin, Texas, USA)

My name is Phillip Price. I'm a 56-year-old man currently on Disability. I have three older siblings. Both my parents have passed. I have three grown sons and one granddaughter.

Legally Blind Phillip Seeks Disability Grants For Housing And GED
Legally Blind Phillip Seeks Disability Grants For Housing And GED

I'm currently living in Austin, Texas. I moved here in 2005 after my divorce.

Currently living with a friend, I wanted to be close to my kids and grandchild. Also I really liked Austin and the surrounding areas. I'd love to stay in this area but cost of living is high and increasing every day.

I had to stop working when my eyesight got so bad I couldn't drive to my work sites. Being self-employed I had no benefits to fall back on.

Slowly but surely I started to lose most of my savings paying for Doctors and Hospitals. It wasn't long till I was asking for help from friends and family.

Disability Issues

I was diagnosed with diabetes when I was 35. I started losing my eyesight when I was in my early 50s. I also suffer with Stage 4 kidney failures and cardiovascular disease.

Three times a week I go to dialysis for four-hour treatments.

My SSDI is based on my eyesight. I'm considered to be legally blind.

Where I'm living is outside the limits of the city transportation service therefore making it hard to get to my dialysis and doctor appointments.

I've been a cabinet and furniture maker all my life. Working with my hands was my life. That's all I know how to do.

I tried to help my friend with farming for extra income but it became to difficult to see.

I've had four eye surgeries, six laser surgeries and now cataract surgery in my left eye that hasn't shown any improvement. I'm scheduled for my right eye in another month.

In September of 2016, I had a triple bypass. I'm still having trouble with hypertension. I take blood pressure medication, Insulin and several other prescriptions.

Financial Hardship

Out of my SSDI of $2024 a month, $145 goes to Medicare and supplemental insurance, leaving me with $1879 for the month. Out of that, I pay the following:

• $300 rent
• $50 telephone
• $109 life insurance
• $250 groceries
• $180 transportation
• $175 medications
• $100 credit cards
• $200 doctor and hospital payments
• $360 Dialysis my part after Medicare

Those payments total $1724, leaving me with $154 for clothes and miscellaneous a month.

Medicare and supplemental insurance pay 80% of my entire medical and I'm responsible for the rest. Sometimes I have nothing left at the end of the month.

I'm currently on a waiting list for a low-income apartment for 55 and older, but I've been on it for almost a year now. I can't find anything anywhere else that I can afford in the area.

Transportation is my biggest hurdle. I'm always having to beg for a ride to go "everywhere." You would never believe how much you miss being able to jump in your car and go anywhere you want.

My sons help when I ask but they have jobs and their own lives to live. My friend that I'm staying with is helping me as much as he can but I try not to burden him too much.

Income Efforts

After my diagnosis with retinopathy I applied for Social Security Disability and Medicare on my own and prevailed.

Much to my amazement, l registered with the Department of Assistive and Rehabilitation Services (DARS). This was while I was waiting for my approval from SSDI.

They helped me with some training and some of my initial eye surgery.

Once Medicare approved me, I wasn't eligible for the DARS program.

I also got some training at the Austin School for the Blind.

I also tried some online gimmicks, but we all know how that ended.

I'm not one to whine about my disabilities but nobody wants to hire a 56-year-old cabinetmaker, a carpenter with bad eyes and a bad heart.

Specific Needs

I would like some help with my medical bills, in particular with future eye surgery.

I could also use help getting my own place to live and a small shop to work in making some extra income.

I don't need a car but help with transportation would be a plus.

Since I never finished school, I would love to return and earn my GED. Even today that costs money!

I had to pawn most of my tools to survive while waiting for my Disability. I'd like to replace them some day and continue doing what I was born to do.

Business Idea

There's not much I'm able to do but I "would like" to continue building furniture and possibly learning how to plan and construct small water craft, canoes, of course selling for a profit.

It's not going to be a "Fortune Five Hundred" business but it might help me survive.

Comments for Disability Grants To Help Legally Blind Phillip Find Housing And Earn GED

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 31, 2017
Reading my story
by: Phillip Price

Thank you so much for reading my story and commmenting. It's good to hear from other people who are concerned.

Jul 30, 2017
by: John

Hi Phillip,

Man you have had a lot of troubles in your lifetime. I was born with epilepsy and have had seizures all my life. Also had a brain surgery, from which I lost half of my eyesight. Now I can't drive. But I and my wife will say prayers for you. I have not found any grants that can help the disabled people. But stay strong. God Bless you and your family.

John and Lavilla

Jul 30, 2017
Now you can access the Workbook!
by: Don from Ability Mission

Hello Phillip,

Congrats on getting your story published! In doing so, you've acquired valuable hands-on experience in responding to precise instructions, the very kind that you will encounter when applying for help of any kind.

You've now earned the right to access the Workbook, which shows you how to use your story as a springboard to getting the help you need.

Don Coggan

Click here to add your own comments

Return to US Texas.