Header for Ability Mission

Disabled Joshua Seeking Government Grants For Home And Health Issues

by Joshua
(Davenport, Iowa, USA)

Floor caving in

Floor caving in

Floor caving in Mold in bathroom

Hi! My name is Joshua I am a male who is 28 years old. I have been married to my wife McKinsey going on 3 years now. We've been together for 4 years.

We have 3 wonderful great boys. The youngest is 9-month-old Joshua Jr. Jacob, the middle child is 2 years old. The oldest is 5 years old and his name is Jeremiah. They are my life and best kids in the world.

We live in Davenport, Iowa in a small 2-bedroom trailer with 2 dogs. A doodle her name is Lillie and a English Springer Spaniel his name is Bently.

When I was 23 years of age I was in terrible car accident that happened on May 16, 2006. Nobody else was in the car accident (thank God).

I don't remember what really happened. And I still can't remember how or what caused the accident to this day.

When I woke up from a coma 3 weeks later in the ICU, I was told that I must have lost control of the car and crashed into three parked vehicles and hit a tree.

The Doctor said it is a miracle I'm still alive. He told my family I was not going to make it.

I had a shattered hip, my pelvis was broken in half, I crushed my spleen and I lost my gallbladder and kidney.

I was so internally damaged that I lost 3 feet of my bowel, had a collapsed lung, and I pierced my aorta (main artery to heart).

I have extensive nerve and leg damage to my left leg. I have to wear a leg and foot brace to help me walk.

I was in the hospital for 3 months before I was able to go home. My health and limited physical abilities are still the same. I should have my next SSI review in 2017.

My wife and I are definitely in a financial hardship. We both have student loans and credit card debt.

I have judgments against me from my accident. Our electricity bill is in the nine hundred dollar range.

It's hard for us to buy diapers for our kids because we have to pay extra money to our electric bill every month so they don't shut us off.

I just want to walk into the other room and cry from all the stress and worry of it all.

It raises my blood pressure. I take medication for that and for my pain.

We have to ask our parents and families for help all the time, but they struggle as well.

On top of all that the floors in our home are caving in. There's mold in the bathroom that I think is the reason some of us are sick all the time and the reason my kids have been coughing for the past few months.

Our washer and dryer stopped working and with all of our children and us the laundry is always piled up.

My only income is my SSI disability check every month. I've tried to work with my uncle who has a little wholesale business picking orders.

But anything I do I get pains in chest and shortness of breath. So that didn't last but a couple days for only 2 hours each day.

I am the stay at home parent and my wife works. It is also really hard on me taking care of my boys but one of us has to work.

I would love to work from home but don't have money to try and don't know what kind of work from home jobs there are.

I am looking for help to pull me and my family out of this struggling financial hole of debt and bills were in.

Also need help to fix my trailer up so that we can sell it and find a much healthier, safer home for my family to live in.

So if there is any money or grants out there that can help my family and me, I would appreciate it.

Please help us with assistance in finding away to do so. I want to give my kids a better future so that they don't make the same debts and mistakes I've made.

I would like to have a work at home business of some sort. But don't know how much it would cost or it would be.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Iowa.