Header for Ability Mission

Disabled Single Mother and Grandmother Seeks Grant Money For Debt Relief

by Terri Otes
(Essex, Maryland, USA)

I am a 49-year-old single mother and grandmother. I'm struggling financially and looking for grant money or anything really for debt relief.

I live in Baltimore MD and have two children and one grandchild who live with me. I have several health problems that have had me walking with a cane since 2003.

Last year I was approved for a motorized scooter to help me get around my home. However I cannot leave my home with the chair because I do not have a ramp from my deck to the ground.

I also cannot afford to purchase a trailer for the chair to attach to my daughters car. My health is getting progressively worse without any real hope of improving.

I would like to be able to leave my home to attend functions at my son's school. He is only 13 and I feel like I am not a good mother to him because I have been disabled since he was seven and have not been able to participate in activities with him like I did with my 21-year-old daughter.

I also have a two-year-old granddaughter who lives with me and I want to be an active participant in her life outside of our house.

My daughter is attending college full-time. She wants to be able to make enough money to help me out in the future, but for now things are tough.

I have to make a choice each month whether to pay bills such as electricity and medicine or buy food for the household. I usually neglect to get my medicine and do not pay my electric bill.

Right now I have a $2660 electric bill with a turn-off notice on its way. I do not know how I am going to pay it. I just applied for energy assistance. I hope it comes through for me.

My co-payments for my medicine can run as high as $300 a month. When I do not fill my prescriptions I obviously get worse.

I can't afford to get my eyeglasses, which I lost in November of 2009, and I cannot come up with the $356 payment to get new ones. That is going through the insurance. They do not pay for the progressive bifocals that I wear.

I would just like to get enough money to get myself out of debt and be mobile. I want to feel like a productive mother and grandmother instead of feeling like they would be better off without me around.

It is very depressing to have these worries every day. I sometimes have a hard time getting out of bed because I know all the problems I am going to face.

I am not asking anyone to pity me. I am only asking for help to get on my feet financially and to be able to access the outside world.

I can walk to the car with my cane if I take several pain pills but it is still difficult. Then I have to worry about how I am going to get around the store I am going to; if they do not have a scooter available for me I have to leave.

My daughter is forced to do most of my shopping for me now, which I wouldn't mind so much but I like to be able to do things for myself. My daughter has a very busy schedule attending college full-time, working part-time and raising a two year old.

I care for my granddaughter while my daughter goes to work and school with the help of my son after school and in evenings.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Maryland.