Header for Ability Mission

Grant And Advice To Help Stroke Disabled Grandma Find Home And Dignity

by Paula Bradley
(Barnardsville, North Carolina, USA)

I'm a single 50-year-old woman that grew up in a poor household in Fairview, NC.

I graduated high school in 1981 and began my first job right after. Then in 1984 I had a son and was a single parent.

My family helped me a lot with my son, baby-sitting while I worked, etc. It's hard being a single parent, but I love my son and he has always been my life.

I thank God everyday that I'm a mother. Nic is now 29 with a little boy 23 months old and I'm a proud grandmother.

Nic isn't married, but he tries to take care of his baby. He works very hard and he and I are going to get a place together and try to get emergency custody of the baby.

That is going to cost $3500 and he is saving his money for the custody costs.

Disability Issues

In 1999 I had a stroke with seizures, which also led to posttraumatic stress disorder and depression.

Because of the stroke I lost the job that I acquired through a temporary service, where I worked hard for three months, then was hired permanently, full time through the company, making $6 an hour.

In the year 2000 I was awarded SSI and SSDI. It was a small amount, but I'm thankful.

In the beginning after the stroke, I had to rely on a wheelchair. I did get Medicaid that paid for it. I had the choice of an electric chair, but instead I chose one that had bicycle tires that was made to go in the yard.

Within two years I was out of the wheelchair and able to walk again, but the seizures kept me from living a normal everyday life.

Then in November 2010 to February of 2011 I had seven mini strokes that set me back. I fought hard to get well.

My seizures are now under control and in the last year I have recovered remarkably. Although not 100%, it's enough that I can function and go forward with my life.

I do not live alone for the fear of strokes. I now have to have the LEEP procedure done to my cervix, for I have high range cells that may be cancer. God forbid.

The procedure will probably take place in September 2013.

Financial Hardship

I am still on disability, but will lose my SSI, because I'm working, although only part time.

It is hard getting back and forth to work, for I don't have my own vehicle, or the money to buy one.

My credit is poor because a lot of times I didn't have enough money for bills with only the low income I received. So I cannot get a loan.

If I had my own vehicle it would help me to get a higher pay rate position at my job. I do enjoy the work in which I deal with developmentally disabled individuals.

I live on the back porch of a friend's house and cold weather is coming soon. I don't have enough money to even rent a home yet and can't get a loan.

Income Efforts

For a long time I spent a lot of time and money trying to find work-at-home jobs. They just seemed to scam you out of money you didn't have to begin with.

I still receive disability income for another year, which is only $520 a month. I do have a part time job.

My credit is poor and Lexington Law is working to better it. I'm not able to acquire loans because of my credit.

Specific Needs

I am seeking help with a grant, or similar. I don't need a handout, only a helping hand up. I really need a vehicle and a home.

I'm trying to get a rent-to-own home in Fairview, NC. I found a place, but can't afford it. I would like to own something I'm paying for, instead of paying for it for someone else.

Even if you have some good advice, it is welcome. I only want to better myself, get back my dignity, self-esteem and a better life.

I want to be someone my son and grandson can look up to. After all, the stroke damaged my son also. Thank you.

Click here to post comments

Return to US North Carolina.