Header for Ability Mission

Grant For Disabled Young Davison To Fund Lifestyle Improving Project

by Davison Mawarire
(Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe)

My name is Davison Mawarire. I am a young man aged 25, born in Chibi Growth Point in Zimbabwe.

In our family we were five, two boys and three girls. One girl is deceased. I am the fourth in the family.

I grew up at an orphanage since my mother was not able to take care of me and my brother and sisters.

I have a wife and a baby that is 15 months old.

I have an honors degree in political science from the University of Zimbabwe.

Disability Issues

I was born with thin legs that make it difficult for me to walk without clutches since the body is too heavy for the legs.

I was able to walk when I was five years old, after hundreds of visits to Mutare General Hospital, through the orphanage.

I was able to walk without help until I was in form one, when my body was heavy for my legs, forcing the orphanage to source a wheelchair for me from a donor in the United States of America.

I later stopped using the wheelchair when I was at the University of Zimbabwe, deciding to use clutches.

My official disability status is clubfoot.

Financial Hardship

I have worked as an administrative manager at Manhinga Village Childrens Home where I grew up for one year.

They paid me US$350 a month. Due to economic hardships in Zimbabwe they were not able to pay my monthly salary.

Also, the money was not enough for me, since life for disabled people in Zimbabwe is very expensive, and so I left.

The other reason for leaving is that I was no longer allowed to work at the orphanage, because I grew up there. (This is a new law of the Department of Social Services that forbids people to work at an orphanage they grew up in.)

Due to high levels of unemployment in Zimbabwe, I am a relief teacher at Dunnottar Primary School earning less than US$450 a month.

My problem is that I am only given a three-month contract, making it difficult for me to pay my rentals and transport costs and to give my family a decent life.

Moreover, my wife is unemployed since she is yet to start her tertiary education.

Life is also very difficult for me since I am not able to buy strong crutches to use because of finance problems.

Income Efforts

I have tried to work as a relief teacher, but the money I got was not enough to meet my expenses.

I have asked for donations in my country but all my efforts proved to be fruitless.

Specific Needs

I am looking for someone or an organization that can assist me with a grant to start a project that can make life easier for my family and me.

Moreover, I am looking for advice and counseling so that my life and that of my family can proceed with few hiccups.

Comments for Grant For Disabled Young Davison To Fund Lifestyle Improving Project

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 08, 2015
Now, on to the Workbook
by: Don from Ability Mission


You're off to a good start. Now you can move on to the Workbook stage of the process.

Don Coggan

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Outside US/CA.