Header for Ability Mission

Grant For Segway To Give Cerebral Palsy Disabled Student Independence

by Eric Gray
(Joppa, MD, USA)

I am 23 years old and I have always done my best to be independent. That being said, I do need your help.

I want to be able to work, socialize, and live my own life.

I am currently a full-time college student with loans I need to pay off.

What I feel I need is a modest estimate of about $4,000 for a Segway. This purchase has been sanctioned by the ADA as a mobility assistance device.

With it, I may be able to affordably travel long distances, run errands, and better support myself.

Disability Issues

I was born with cerebral palsy. It's not the worst case in the world. I don't have seizures nor am I chairbound. I have been somewhat fortunate in that regard.

I am capable of a lot but that doesn't mean I don't have limitations. I have had five surgeries if I remember correctly. I have spent 15 years in rigorous physical therapy to be as capable as I am.

I try to be optimistic and strive to work hard for everything, even though I have to work harder than most.

The most accurate description I can give for my disability classification is athetoid diplegic ataxic cerebral palsy.

Financial Hardship

I have been unable to find paying work since I do not have good transportation. I have been surviving with the help of my twin brother, SSDI, and food assistance.

I acknowledge that a car is more expensive and more than I need. That's why I went to a Segway dealership, was trained on one, and got a price estimate.

The person who trained me on the device has nearly a decade of experience selling Segways to the disabled and to injured vets.

He and I agree that this piece of equipment is best for my needs because of how I intend to use it and the capabilities I do have.

As I said before, I have student debt and I don't make enough money after paying rent to contribute enough to my family.

Income Efforts

I haven't had paid work since high school. I didn't even have that job for long because they were not satisfied with how quickly I was working in spite of knowing my circumstances.

I currently receive SSDI and food assistance as I mentioned before.

I intend to get a good job and contribute to society when I have long range mobility. Things will improve further when I finish getting at least my Master’s degree in psychology.

I already ask for a lot of help from family and friends and I am tired of being a burden on them. The sooner I can get good work and pay off my student loans the better.

Specific Needs

I need a grant to afford a mobility device so I can be more independent and put less of a burden on society and my family.

As I said before, I have already done the research, the testing, and have found what I need.

A Gen 1 Segway with just a few accessories will allow me to sit down on the device, and carry things. That model has a 24 mile range and a speed of roughly 20 mph.

It is light weight, easy to transport in a standard car, easy to turn, and the least expensive option to provide all I need.

Business Idea

My twin brother partially owns a design studio/print company that I volunteer with.

I intend to use the transportation to contribute more to the business and make sales so that his startup will be able to pay me.

I would then begin to save for the opportunity offered to me by the other owner. I can purchase her equity and divide it with my brother’s as we see fit.

If you want to get more information you can visit http://www.aceprintanddesign.com.

We design and print from scratch any promotional items you can imagine. In addition, we can also mail eligible printed pieces for you as cheap, effective, and targeted marketing.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Maryland.