Header for Ability Mission

Grant To Help Back Disabled Former Army Combat Medic With Home Repairs

by Marion Morehouse
(Oxford, Ohio, USA)

I am 60-year-old guy who has worked from the age of 12. I've worked hard all my life. I served in the U.S. Army as a combat medic.

My ex-wife lives with me due to being in a car wreck and her leg being amputated. We have five children, mine, hers and ours.

My oldest daughter is a veterinarian in the U.S. Army with the rank of Major. My oldest son has served in the U.S. Air Force and is now working at Caterpillar in South Carolina. My youngest son is a senior in high school.

1. Free Advocacy Help
Get a real disability advocate working for you all at no cost to you. (...more)
2. Grant Search Online
Find grants online more easily. Search a huge database of top resources. (...more)

Disability Issues

While I was serving in the U.S. Army I fell off a Humvee and injured my lower back rupturing a disc. Over the years, as I continued working, it has gotten progressively worse.

Due to the bending and lifting that I had to do while working it became harder to do my job. The job I held required fast movement and repetition, which took its toll on my back and job performance.

As a result of my slow performance I was released from my job. I am now fully disabled with Social Security and considered 50 present disabled with the U.S. government.

Financial Hardship

The money I receive from my Disability just pays the bills. I have very little extra to do major house repairs.

There are times I can scrape up some money to do small repairs on the house example: a new window here and a new window there.

I just can't afford to do everything at once with the limited income I have.

My youngest son does a lot of the labor around the house to help save on the cost.

I take methadone and Motrin/ibuprofen for my pain. Due to the weakness in my legs, I sometimes have to use a walker, but most of the time I use a cane.

Income Efforts

My only income I receive is SSDI and payment from US government (VA) for my back.

It would be very hard for me to land a job with my age and back in the shape that it is.

I'm not a member of any church; I don't want to ask them for any help when I don't attend.

My friends and family have problems of their own. I don't want to weigh them down with my problems.

Specific Needs

I would like to receive a grant to help build a barn to put my mower, tractor, tools and vehicle in to get them out of the elements of the weather.

I also need help with home repairs: windows, doors, kitchen flooring, carpeting. Any type of help would be greatly appreciated.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Ohio.