Header for Ability Mission

Grant To Help Diabetic With Bipolar Disorder Get Education And Housing

by Joseph Cancino
(Lake Elsinore, CA, USA)

I'm a 35-year-old bipolar and diabetic guy from Los Angeles, currently living in Lake Elsinore. I am part Mexican, German and Irish.

I live with my mother who is also disabled. I have an eight-year-old son and just got a Blue Nose Brindle Pit Bull puppy.

Disability Issues

I've been diagnosed with bipolar disorder and schizophrenia, for which I take seven different prescribed meds.

I am also diabetic, have high blood pressure and suffer painful dental issues

Financial Hardship

I was awarded Social Security Disability, which pays $866 a month. SSD allows me minimal work opportunities though due to my illness.

Thank God my medical pays my basic prescriptions and diabetes supplies. But dental coverage is minimal and that's a problem. It doesn’t come close to the payments they want to charge me for dental work.

I'm struggling with housing, which is why I'm living with my mom.

I can read okay, but I don't understand literature or punctuation. I fought to go back and get my GED. Now I'd like to go to school to learn computer skills to earn extra money to help out more, but I just can't afford it.

Income Efforts

We've been on a waiting list for a low-income housing program. It's kind of discouraging to see the housing we qualified for.

My family helps out with food. We also ask the church but they charge for food sometimes.

I tried to do things on the Internet to earn extra money, but my phone is just too slow. I need a computer and to brush up on my basic education. I just don't have money to do it. Thank God for the spellchecker or I'd be in trouble.

I don't know much about grants but I need help. It's hard to make it on SSD alone.

Specific Needs

I would like info on:

- dental grants
- housing programs
- school grants
- affordable legal advice on custody to get my son with me
- mental health options better than the county gives to help me understand and deal with my illness

Business Idea

I would like to buy scrap gold and jewelry on the side. My mathematics skills are average. I just don't know how much I can make while I'm on SSD and I won't lie to them.

Click here to post comments

Return to US California.