Header for Ability Mission

Grant To Help Get Wheelchair Van For Accident Disabled Divorcee

by Dixie Johnson
(Hortense, Georgia, USA)

I am a 54-year-old female. I am divorced. I live by myself. I have two children, a boy and a girl, both grown and on their own.

I have two grandchildren. Both of my parents are deceased. I have one brother and two sisters.

I taught school for almost 25 years. I love animals, especially dogs.

Disability Issues

My disability began when I was in a car accident back in 1988 when someone had hit me and I had two dislocated disc in my neck and back.

Over time, they started giving me a lot of pain making it hard for me to lift and stand for long periods of time.

I ended up having to have one of the discs replaced in my neck by them taking a piece of bone from my hip in order to replace the disc.

As time went on, I started having hip pain and had a harder time walking.

With my job in teaching, there was much required in typing lesson plans and reports, resulting in carpal tunnel syndrome in both hands. I got surgery in both hands. Then after that I ended up having joint surgery in both hands again.

I had cancer in one of my legs and had to have surgery on it twice. I was supposed to be off from work for six weeks, but due to my children being small at the time, and being a single parent, I went back to work in two weeks resulting in tearing the stitches. I had to support my children.

Over the years, I started having problems with my feet, knees, hands more often in pain. Then it was pain in the neck, back and hips.

I ended up going to an arthritis doctor. He tried helping me with medication, but the pain was so depressing.

From being in pain all the time, I could hardly do anything around the house. I have developed asthma and COPD, making even harder for me to breathe.

I would get so depressed and frustrated from being in pain and not being able to breathe that I couldn't do the things I use to be able to do.

I cried a lot wanting to keep the house clean. I couldn't lift things like I used to be able to do.

Then one winter I came down with pneumonia. I was barely able to get around the house trying to do anything. I was constantly using my inhaler.

Finally, I couldn't take it any longer, I prayed that my car could get me to the hospital and I admitted myself. I was in the hospital for a week for pneumonia.

After getting out of the hospital, my doctor checked me out, found out I was diabetic, Type 2 and needed thyroid medicine.

I have acid reflux and irritable bowel syndrome.

Financial Hardship

My financial hardship issues are that my car no longer runs and I need a car or van that can lift/hold a wheelchair. I need a dependable car/van that will get me to my doctor's appointments.

I need help with my electric bill each month, the taxes and insurance on the place that I am living at right now.

I suppose I'd need help with insurance as well on a car/van. At the moment, I'd be happy to get a dependable vehicle that could get me to the doctor's appointments.

When my ex left me about three years ago, I lost my house in foreclosure. I couldn't pay any of my credit cards.

Once I had good credit, now, I couldn't go get anything now. I have bill collectors constantly calling me and I don't have the money to file for bankruptcy. I'd be more than happy to pay my creditors off if I could.

I need to see a dentist, but can't afford to see one to replace a filling or however many there may be now.

I need a ramp, but I can't afford that as well.

I need basic personal items like shampoo, soap, toiletries, etc., that food stamps will not pay for.

I need to go to an eye doctor as my vision is getting blurred. I haven't seen one in two years. The last time I saw an eye doctor, he had said I was at the beginning stage of cataracts.

Income Efforts

I receive disability, but I don't receive Social Security because during my teaching years they never took out social security.

I receive food stamps. I receive Medicare and Medicaid. I have a friend that comes down from Atlanta that brings me clothes.

I have tried to pawn a lot of my things in order to survive. I've tried to sell my things online in order to bring in some type of money to pay my bills.

Specific Needs

I need a new vehicle that I can depend on that is able to carry or lift the wheelchair that I have in the house. I need a ramp for it to go down from my house.

I need help to pay my electric bill, and to pay off my credit cards.

I need to go to a dentist and to see an eye doctor. I need the finances to buy personal items, like toiletries, toothpaste, cleaning products, shampoo, soap, detergent.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Georgia.