Header for Ability Mission

Grant To Help Heart Failure Disabled Woman With Craft Business

by Molly Martini
(Salt Lake City, UT, USA)

My name is Molly Martini, and I am 33 years old. I was born in Everett, Washington on October 11th, 1979.

In 1982, my Dad, Rodney Martini, passed away in a drunk driving accident.

In 1994, my Mom, Elaine Martini, passed away from breast cancer. She had been struggling with cancer since 1991.

After my mom died, I had to go live with my Aunt Linda, whose husband did not want me there. They eventually divorced, and a couple years later she asked me to move out.

So I moved halfway across the country to Las Cruces, NM to live with my sister, who then decided to move to east Texas.

Luckily I met my best friend, Amber Gonzales, who took me under her wing. We moved to Salt Lake City, Utah where I now call home.

I've been in Salt Lake City for 10 years this year. I feel lucky because I have also met the love of my life, Cortney Warner.

We are engaged, and will hopefully be married in the near future. My life started out rough, but it's all been worth it, especially to be in love now.

Disability Issues

I have ischemic cardiomyopathy, also known as congestive heart failure.

The day I discovered I had heart failure I was at Liberty Park with my fiancé. It was so weird because I couldn't walk all the way across the park.

I'm pretty physically fit, and had never had a problem walking for miles at a time. On this day I couldn't walk a few yards without having to stop and rest.

I thought I was having allergies, and was going to have an asthma attack. For the next week I couldn't sleep, because every time I would lie down I would start choking, and couldn't breathe.

Finally Cort, my fiancé, talked me into going to the emergency room. That is where I met Dr. Scott Hacking, who saved my life!

He discovered my ejection fracture was at about 5%. If I hadn't been this young, and healthy I would have died.

I am now up to somewhere between 15% and 20%, but normal is 65%. So I still have a long road ahead of me, and I'm determined to get better.

For the time being however, I am disabled. I had my second heart surgery January 25, 2013.

Financial Hardship

My disability has humbled me. When I first became sick I had to quit working. I couldn't pay my rent. My car got repossessed.

My fiancé and I ended up homeless, living in a camper for six months.

This is because it takes Social Security Disability six months before they will start paying benefits.

Once I started getting my disability benefits, which are only $1200 per month, I then had to start paying the state of Utah for my Medicaid.

I have to pay them $250 per month, plus rent and utilities. It doesn't leave me with much left to live on. I am at the whim of others' kindness to help those in need.

One of the most difficult things about having heart failure is that you can't do very much physical activity at one time.

Without a car I've had to ride the bus, and walk. The bus stop is two blocks from my house, which is like an eternity away for somebody like me.

It's been so hard, but I will not quit. I am determined to be a part of society.

Income Efforts

I do receive Social Security Disability, which is a huge help. However it doesn't cover all of my living expenses.

When I have the energy I work on making crafts, which I sell online, and at craft sales, or farmer's markets. I want to expand my crafting into a business that I can do from home.

Specific Needs

I am seeking financial and medical assistance in the form of grants, and any other means possible.

I want financial grants for assistance in opening my craft business, and expanding my business into something that can generate enough income for me that I don't need Social Security anymore.

I also want medical assistance to help me pay for the Medicaid I use.

Business Idea

My business is called Molly's Dreams Boutique. You can view my web store at www.mollysdreams.etsy.com.

I am seeking financial assistance to increase my store.

I sell all handmade, one-of-a-kind items such as jewelry, candleholders, vases, trinket jars and boxes, hair accessories, ear gauges, handbags, teddy bears, and hand embroidery.

I would like financial assistance in purchasing supplies, displays, advertising and employees.

I want to make my business a local attraction, as well as an Internet success. I can do it on my own, but with assistance I know it can happen faster.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Utah.