Header for Ability Mission

Grant To Help Manic Depressive Bipolar Woman Pay Bills And Legal Fees

by Lori Bricker
(Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA)

My name is Lori. My friends call me Spirit. I am 39 years old. I have one son named Zackery who is 16 and the love of my life.

I have a wonderful man finally in my life. We have been dating since September of 2013 after being best friends for 14 years. I love life. I love helping others. I love long walks, yoga, meditating and hiking.

Disability Issues

I was diagnosed with bipolar manic depression at the age of 15 when without remembering it I took a bottle of pills and slit my wrist. I had been through some major abuse prior to this at the hands of my birth mother and stepfathers.

I refused to get on Disability when I left my father's on my 16th birthday. I eventually wound up pregnant at the age of 22 by a man who was obsessive, controlling and very abusive.

My bipolar disorder started getting worse the years we were together and I filed for divorce. The issue continued to worsen due to being stalked, threatened and harassed constantly.

I ended up not only having and evolving with major bipolar disorder but also getting severe stress/anxiety disorder that got so out of control I went into seizures. I developed agoraphobia and finally had to apply for Disability, which is not much.

I recently moved away from Texas to New Mexico. I so want to go back to school for a behavioral science degree. With only $721 a month, I am barely scraping by. I have no car, and hardly any propane left.

Financial Hardship

I am stuck at home most of the time as a result of wrecking my car four years ago. I have medical transportation for anything medical related.

My hardship is my rent at $650 per month, which I pay out of the $721 I get. I am almost out of propane, which heats the water and the stove. I have received no word from food stamps yet.

Due to medical related issues I should be eating healthy. But healthy is expensive. This was supposed to be my new beginning. Now I am not sure what I am going to do.

Income Efforts

I have Disability at $720 per month.

I live outside of town so I cannot get help from churches.

I need a new drivers license but can't afford to pay for a copy of my divorce degree right now that the DMV wants.

Specific Needs

I want no sympathy. I am who I was made to be. But yes I do need help. I am in a very bad need of it right now.

I seek food stamps and a grant right now just for personal use.

I need propane, and I would like a used car, nothing fancy.

I do need legal help as well for discrimination issues in Texas.

My advice to myself and to anyone is to never give up on yourself. Take care of you. I will get through this one way or another and I plan on going back to college.

Click here to post comments

Return to US New Mexico.