Header for Ability Mission

Grant To Help Pain And Accident Disabled Mother Live Normal Life

by Judith Libby
(Gadsden, Alabama, USA)

I am a 49-year-old mother. Shortly after I became disabled in 1993, my husband left me and I raised my kids alone.

I can't remember the last time I had my own place, or clothes, or peace of mind.

My new granddaughter is my life. All I want to do is be there for her and watch her grow up. Nothing would make me happier.

I can't though because I have nowhere to stay now. My family members are mean. They drink and scream and it makes me so stressed I have seizures.

I just need a loan to help me pay the rent and deposit on a place, and get the things I need: clothes, shoes and home items.

I have never asked for any help, but I am now desperate. I am trying to have a stable life in a world gone crazy. I just need some shelter from it

Disability Issues

I had a horseback riding accident in 1993. My left knee is unstable. It swells and hurts daily.

It cannot be repaired due to the damage walking has done over the years. I don't walk well, and cannot run, stand or sit for long periods of time.

Financial Hardship

I have no home, car, work. I am always broke before the 2nd week, having to pay to stay where I can.

My licenses were revoked a few years ago because I couldn't get to court over a broken taillight.

Income Efforts

I get SSI and I have no other help.

My family has nothing to offer me, and my children aren't able to help me.

The local churches help with food when they can.

I'm trying to stay alive, safe and happy. I just I can't ever get ahead.

Specific Needs

I need help with a house, and paying off old power, water and gas bills I was left with.

I need help to live my life the way I should be living it.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Alabama.