Header for Ability Mission

Grants Advice And Resources For Cancer Disabled Father Of Four

by Anthony Jennings
(Memphis, TN, USA)

My name is Anthony Jennings. I am a 29-year-old father of four beautiful children.

I graduated from the University of Memphis in 2006. I earned a bachelor’s degree in International Business.

I have always tried to lead a healthy lifestyle. I exercised regularly.

Disability Issues

I am not sure of the origin of my cancer.

I noticed during the 2012 Thanksgiving holiday that I was suffering from a lack of energy and shortness of breath.

I was loading furniture onto a U-haul during my relocation from Florida to Tennessee.

I was working a lot of overtime at my job during this period and I assumed that maybe I had been overworking myself.

However, I went to a minor medical facility to get checked out. I was told I was simply suffering from a sinus infection.

The following week, I returned to work and my fatigue continued. I was unable to walk from my desk to the copy machine without sweating and being out of breath.

On December 5, 2012, I went to the emergency room and was diagnosed with acute lymphocytic leukemia.

I suffered further complications as a result of the chemotherapy associated with my condition. I developed a pulmonary embolism and I now have to take self-injected shots twice daily.

Financial Hardship

I was admitted to the hospital for the entire month of December following my diagnosis. I initially lost a month's worth of income and my financial issues started from there.

I was bombarded with a long list of prescription medications and antibiotics I would need to take daily in order to survive my cancer.

I applied for short-term disability through my employer and also through Social Security.

I was making $40,000 a year before I fell ill. My short-term disability would only cover 40% of my pay.

Social Security has granted me $710 monthly.

During this time period, I was going through an increasingly expensive divorce. I had just lost 60% of my income.

I applied for a modification of my child support and was denied. Therefore what I had gained in an SSI payment I would not see because my children came first.

My child support payment was $1000 a month.

In order to stay current on child support, I stopped paying my car note and credit cards.

I moved my family into a relative's rental property.

The home we moved into had no heat. I took out all of my savings to repair the heating and to purchase space heaters to make our home bearable.

I also had to use the remainder of my savings to prevent my vehicle from being repossessed so I was able to make my outpatient visits.

As time passed, complications with my illness caused me to have to purchase more medications and also equipment.

Income Efforts

I have applied for work-at-home jobs because my cancer is one of the blood.

My immune system is severely suppressed so I am unable to be around the general public, as I may become severely ill from an infection.

I applied for SSI and SSDI. I asked for help from family members, however they are not in the financial position to be able to provide any assistance.

Specific Needs

I am seeking any possible benefits, grants, and any legal assistance that can be provided. I need to get back on my feet and continue to be able to support my family.

I need any possible assistance that may be available to someone in my situation. Any guidance and or support would be greatly appreciated.

Click here to post comments

Return to US Tennessee.