Header for Ability Mission

Single Mom With Bipolar And PTSD Seeks Help To Escape Money Woes

by Michelle Martinez
(Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA)

I'm a 35-year-old single mother with three children: Roman 14, Erlinda 18 and Patricio 19.

Patricio is on his own and no longer at home. Still with me are Roman and Erlinda, along with her 22-month-old son.

Both Roman and Erlinda are in high school.


1. Free Advocacy Help
Get a real disability advocate working for you all at no cost to you. (...more)
2. Grant Search Online
Find grants online more easily. Search a huge database of top resources. (...more)


Disability Issues

I'm physically and mentally disabled with bipolar disorder, PTSD and depression. I have real bad anxiety.

I also have a herniated disc on my left lower back. I was receiving a total of 12 injections on my L3, L4 L5 and SI joints but it became too painful to continue receiving them.

I also have sciatica, which restricts me from sitting for long periods at a time. I have numbness in my left leg and foot.

I'm in constant pain. While on pain meds I became dependent on them. Now I'm going to a clinic that has helped me with my dependence issue.

Financial Hardship

I currently receive $730 a month from SSDI plus $152 in food stamps. This amount does not cover the cost of living for a family of four.

Every month I have to decide which bills are more important and which bill I can go without paying so I can put food on the table. There are days were I don't eat just to have enough food for my kids and grandson.

My daughter is still in high school so it's hard for her to assist me during the day. She does help out as much as she can.

I do have an SUV but cannot drive it for many reasons. I can't afford insurance. My check engine light is on. I need tires and a back window.

Some months I can't afford a single dollar to buy my medication, so I split my pills in half just so I don't run out.

Clothing is a big issue also. My kids and grandson have grown out of most of their clothes and my son badly needs shoes.

Income Efforts

Getting around is very difficult for me. I have very little family and they help with rides when they can but financially unable to help.

There are places that do help me once a year like light HEAP, Saint Vincent de Paul and the good neighbor fund, but it's not enough. I do appreciate everything these agencies do for my family.

I have been on the Internet applying for work-from-home jobs, but I have had no luck.

I have placed ads on Craigslist and 2hands, but no luck.

Specific Needs

I am looking for advice on how to get out of my current situation. If you can supply information on grants or benefits I can apply for that will help.

Donations of any kind to help me out would be greatly appreciated, as would a mechanic that can help fix my car for a reasonable amount.

Click here to post comments

Return to US New Mexico.